[02-23-2024] Riverside County, CA – 27-Year-Old Pedestrian Killed After Hit-And-Run Collision Along SR-74 in Hemet

[02-23-2024] 27-Year-Old Pedestrian Killed After Hit-And-Run Collision Along SR-74 in HemetA 27-year-old pedestrian was killed after a hit-and-run collision in Hemet on Friday evening, February 23, 2024.

According to the California Highway Patrol, the fatal collision occurred before 10:00 p.m. along State Route 74, east of Georgia Avenue.

Reports indicate that the pedestrian was possibly struck by more than one vehicle after a motorist knocked him into the No. 2 lane.

The victim was pronounced dead at the scene. He was identified as a 27-year-old man named Elder L., a resident of Hemet.

None of the drivers involved remained at the scene. The authorities are currently conducting an investigation into the fatal collision.

Esteemed Riverside County Hit-and-Run Accident Attorneys Specializing in Pedestrian Accident Cases

You can either file a lawsuit or submit an insurance claim if you or a loved one was injured or killed in a hit-and-run collision in Hemet and other areas of Riverside County. Seek advice from our hit-and-run accident lawyers or pedestrian accident lawyers, supervised by Arash Khorsandi, Esq.

Avail a free initial consultation with our legal team at Arash Law. We will provide an assessment of your case, recommendations for necessary steps, and a review of the key factors that could influence your potential settlement offer.

Our esteemed Riverside County hit-and-run accident attorneys will fight for your rights and effectively represent you in court proceedings if necessary. Our law firm has recovered more than $500 Million for California clients.

If you want to speak with one of our lawyers, please call (888) 488-1391 or fill out the “Do I Have a Case?” form.

arash law - free police report - desktop 2

Top 5 Things To Do After a Hit-and-Run Crash in Hemet

If you or a loved one was injured in a crash with a hit-and-run driver, you could take particular steps to protect your right to be compensated in full. The steps you choose can help authorities catch the driver, and they can help establish your claim for damages. Those actions consist of:

  1. Collect as much info as possible while at the scene of the accident. Depending on your condition, you need to get the car’s license plate number and the make, model, and color of the vehicle. If you cannot obtain this information, you need to snap at least a few photos of the car (maybe using your cell phone).
  2. Call the police as soon as possible. The quicker you report the accident to authorities, the faster they can act to arrest the driver. Also, when you call the police, you develop a record of the accident. Within a couple of days, you can order a collision report from the police station that took it or through the California DMV. This record will assist you later when you submit a claim.
  3. Get the names and contact info of any witnesses. You need to keep in mind that individuals who witness an accident may stay to check on your condition, but after the cops and ambulance show up, they may quickly leave. You should make sure to get their names and phone numbers as soon as possible. Witnesses could play a crucial role. For example, a witness might verify that another vehicle collided with your car.
  4. Get immediate medical attention. For your own well-being, you need to see a doctor as soon as possible and get examined for any injuries. Furthermore, if you see a doctor, it produces a record of your injuries. As you improve, you need to stick to your medical professional’s treatment plan.
  5. Report the crash to your own insurance company. While you ought to do this as fast as possible, you need to make sure to stick to the facts. You do not have to admit any fault. Plus, you should not give a recorded statement or accept a settlement agreement until you have talked to a California hit-and-run accident attorney about your case.

I HAD AN ACCIDENT

Fatal Hit-and-Run Accident Statistics

In the United States, leaving the site of an accident without reporting it or helping the victims is considered a crime. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration reported about 737,100 accidents involving hit-and-run drivers in 2015. This equates to roughly one hit-and-run accident occurring every 43 seconds in the US.

Within California, 2,948 hit-and-run accidents resulted in 3,056 fatalities between 2010 and 2019. According to the California Office of Traffic Safety, Hemet recorded 29 hit-and-run crashes in 2021, lower than the 40 crashes reported in the previous year.

Related News
Request a Free Police Report
Check More From Our Award-Winning Law Firm
Suggest a Correction

REQUEST A POLICE REPORT

Thank You, We’ll contact you shortly.