[02-28-2024] Tulare County, CA – Driver Killed, Another Injured Following Two-Vehicle Collision on Avenue 280

[02-28-2024] Driver Killed, Another Injured Following Two-Vehicle Collision on Avenue 280A driver was killed, and another was injured following a two-vehicle collision on Avenue 280, Tulare County, on Wednesday morning, February 28, 2024.

According to the California Highway Patrol, the collision happened around 6:30 a.m., just west of Road 148.

Authorities stated that a 27-year-old driver of a 2004 Nissan was stopped on the right shoulder of eastbound Avenue 280. Meanwhile, a 61-year-old driver was in a 2010 Chevrolet approaching the Nissan at approximately 45-50 mph.

Police said that the driver of Nissan failed to notice the Chevrolet and made a U-turn. The Chevrolet was then collided with the left side of Nissan.

The driver of the Chevrolet was wearing his seatbelt and sustained minor injuries. The driver of Nissan was not wearing her seatbelt and was pronounced dead at the scene.

No further information was released. The investigation continues.

Reputable Car Accident Lawyers in Tulare County, CA

If another driver’s negligence injured you or a loved one, you may be able to sue for damages. Obtain legal advice for your car accident case from one of our personal injury lawyers, supervised by Arash Khorsandi, Esq.

Avail a free consultation with our reputable Tulare County car accident lawyers, who will review your case, discuss the next steps, and examine all the variables that could affect the settlement amount.

Our legal team has well-established careers and accolades in advocating for accident victims. The clients we have worked with have been awarded compensation totaling more than $500 Million.

If you want to speak with one of our lawyers, please call (888) 488-1391 or fill out the “Do I Have a Case?” form.

arash law - free police report - desktop 2

What To Do After a Car Accident in California

No one can predict a car crash or collision, but you can prepare for one. Having a car accident checklist in your glove box can help you stay calm and organized after a car crash. It can tell you what to do, what not to do, and how best to protect your rights. You aren’t alone after a serious collision. Whether you are the injured victim or the family of a killed loved one, here’s what to do after a car accident:

  1. Stay Calm – Stay on the scene and make sure everyone is okay. Check yourself for injuries first, and then check others. Remain calm, and do not admit fault.
  2. Get to a Safe Location – Move disabled vehicles to the side of the road if you can. Put your emergency flashers on to help prevent further collisions. Get somewhere safe to wait for the police.
  3. Call 911 – Call the police to report your accident. Unless your crash was very minor, with no injuries or property damage, you should call the cops. Police can document the incident, gather information, and make it part of an official record.
  4. Exchange Information – Swap names, phone numbers, and insurance information with the other driver(s) involved in the accident. If possible, take photos of the vehicles, license plates, and other vital details.
  5. Do Not Admit Fault – Stick only to the facts of what happened when speaking with a police officer. Be as detailed as possible in your description of the collision.
  6. Seek Medical Attention – Go to the hospital or your primary doctor as soon as possible. Immediate medical care can help reduce the damage you suffer from injuries. Tests and scans can identify internal injuries that may not show symptoms yet.
  7. Report to Your Insurance Company – Most insurers have time limits for how soon you must report an accident in California. Call quickly and follow the agent’s directions for reporting your crash.
  8. Speak to Insurance Adjusters – As soon as the day of your accident, you may receive a phone call from the other party’s insurance company. You may speak to the claims adjuster, but do not give away any more information than is absolutely necessary. Do not record a statement or accept an insurance settlement offer until you speak to an attorney.
  9. Create a File – Keep accident-related documents together and organized. Your file should include a copy of the police report, medical bills, the other driver’s information, injury treatment plans, and any other documents you’ve collected regarding the incident.
  10. Call Our Car Accident Lawyers – When in doubt, give us a call at (888) 488-1391. We offer free consultations so you can discuss your car crash without risk or obligation. We can determine whether your case has merit, help you talk to insurance companies, and assist you in filing a personal injury claim if necessary.

I HAD AN ACCIDENT

Car Accident Statistics

In the US, car crashes cause the most accidental deaths and injuries. According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, there is still a high number of accidents despite a decrease of 0.3% in 2021. There is an estimated total of 42,795 fatalities in 2022 alone.

In 2020, 3,847 people reportedly died in car accidents in California. There were 1,587 fatalities from collisions involving multiple vehicles or 41% of all crashes. On the other hand, single-vehicle accidents caused the most fatalities (59%) in traffic accidents.

In Tulare County, 1,927 victims were either injured or killed in a crash, according to the data from the Transportation Injury Mapping System in 2022. With a population of 474,032 people, it is advisable to exercise caution when driving around the county.

Related News
Request a Free Police Report
Check More From Our Award-Winning Law Firm
Suggest a Correction

REQUEST A POLICE REPORT

Thank You, We’ll contact you shortly.