[11-30-2023] San Diego County, CA – 78-Year-Old Woman Killed After Hit-And-Run Collision in Colina Del Sol

[11-30-2023] 78-Year-Old Woman Killed After Hit-And-Run Collision in Colina Del SolA 78-year-old woman was killed after a hit-and-run crash in Colina Del Sol, San Diego, on Thursday afternoon, November 30, 2023.

According to the San Diego Police Department, the collision occurred at 5:22 p.m. in the 3700 block of 54th Street mid-block.

Initial reports indicate the woman was struck by a vehicle in the southbound lane as she crossed the street. She was taken to the hospital with fractures to her pelvis, ankle, and scapula, but her condition was not life-threatening.

The driver fled the scene, but there are no further details about the crash or the driver at this time. An investigation is currently underway.

Leading San Diego Hit-And-Run Accident Lawyers Specializing in Pedestrian Accident Cases

If you have suffered damages as a result of the negligence of another driver, you may be entitled to compensation. It is best to seek legal advice from an experienced personal injury lawyer after being injured in a hit-and-run accident.

Contact one of our hit-and-run accident lawyers or pedestrian accident lawyers for a consultation. The free case evaluation will provide you with an overview of your case, a discussion of the settlement, and a guide to filing an insurance claim to prepare you for the legal process in the future.

Obtain competent legal assistance from our San Diego hit-and-run accident attorneys at Arash Law, under the direction of Arash Khorsandi, Esq., who are prepared to help you submit your insurance claim or effectively represent you in court. We have recovered more than $500 Million for California clients and have earned a reputation as one of the best law firms in the state.

If you want to speak with one of our lawyers, please call (888) 488-1391 or fill out the “Do I Have a Case?” form.

arash law - free police report - desktop 2

Top 5 Things To Do After a Hit-and-Run Crash

If you are involved in a crash with a driver who flees the scene, you can take particular steps to protect your ability to recover a settlement. The steps you choose can help authorities catch the driver, and they can help establish your claim for damages. Those actions consist of:

  1. Collect as much information as possible while at the scene of the accident. Depending on your condition, you must get the car’s license plate number and the vehicle’s make, model, and color. If you cannot, you need to at least attempt to snap a few photos of the car using your cell phone.
  2. Call the police as soon as possible. The quicker you report the accident to authorities, the faster they can act to arrest the driver. Also, when you call the police, you develop a record of the accident. Within a few days, you can order a collision report from the police station that took it or through the California DMV. This record will assist you later when you submit a claim.
  3. Get the names and contact information of any witnesses. You need to remember that individuals who witness an accident may stay to check on your condition, but after the cops and ambulance show up, they may quickly leave. You should get their names and phone numbers as soon as possible. Witnesses could play a crucial role. For example, a witness might verify that another vehicle collided with your car.
  4. Get immediate medical attention. You need to see a doctor as soon as possible for your well-being and get examined for injuries. Furthermore, if you see a doctor, it produces a record of your injuries. You must stick to your medical professional’s treatment plan as you improve.
  5. Report the crash to your own insurance company. While you ought to do this as fast as possible, you must stick with the facts. You do not have to admit or designate any fault. You should not give a recorded statement or accept a settlement agreement until you discuss your case with California hit-and-run attorneys or pedestrian accident lawyers.

I HAD AN ACCIDENT

Hit-and-Run Accident Statistics

The United States of America has a specific law that prohibits anyone from leaving the scene of an accident without providing first aid and contacting the authorities immediately following the accident if any injuries are sustained.

Between 2010 and 2019, 3,056 fatal hit-and-run accidents in California resulted in 2,948 deaths. As a result of the high number of automobile accidents in California, the state is known to have a high death rate.

According to the 2020 OTS ranking of the California Office of Traffic and Safety, San Diego had 461 hit-and-run fatalities and injuries and 452 pedestrian cases. With an average population of 1,371,832 in the same year, 4,094 were victims of different accidents.

Related News
Request a Free Police Report
Check More From Our Award-Winning Law Firm
Suggest a Correction

REQUEST A POLICE REPORT