According to the authorities, the single-vehicle crash occurred around 12:15 a.m. along Pine Street.
Two high school students sustained serious injuries after a gray car went off Pine St. and struck a tree. The victims were taken to a local hospital, but only one of them remained there by Thursday, November 9.
At least one person was seen fleeing from the crash, and it was identified as an 18-year-old DUI driver who fled on foot.
At 1:30 a.m., authorities found and arrested the driver in the 3400 block of Vista Oaks Drive, suspected of hit-and-run and DUI causing bodily injuries and driving with a .08 or higher blood alcohol content.
As of Thursday, the driver was not in custody. Further details about the crash are not available at this time.
Top Contra Costa County Hit-And-Run Accident Lawyers Specializing in DUI Cases
If you have suffered damages as a result of the negligence of another driver, you may be entitled to compensation. It is best to seek legal advice from an experienced personal injury lawyer after being injured in a hit-and-run accident.
Contact one of our hit-and-run accident lawyers or DUI accident lawyers for an initial consultation. The free case evaluation will provide you with an overview of your case, a discussion of the settlement, and a guide to filing an insurance claim to prepare you for the legal process in the future.
Obtain knowledgeable and experienced legal representation from our Contra Costa County hit-and-run accident attorneys at Arash Law, under the direction of Arash Khorsandi, Esq., who are prepared to help you submit your insurance claim or effectively represent you in court. We have recovered more than $500 Million for California clients and have earned a reputation as one of the best law firms in the state.
Top 5 Things To Do After a Hit-and-Run Crash
If you are involved in a crash with a driver who flees the scene, you can take particular steps to protect your ability to recover a settlement. The steps you choose can help authorities catch the driver, and they can help establish your claim for damages. Those actions consist of:
- Collect as much information as possible while at the scene of the accident. Depending on your condition, you must get the car’s license plate number and the vehicle’s make, model, and color. If you cannot, you need to at least attempt to snap a few photos of the car using your cell phone.
- Call the police as soon as possible. The quicker you report the accident to authorities, the faster they can act to arrest the driver. Also, when you call the police, you develop a record of the accident. Within a few days, you can order a collision report from the police station that took it or through the California DMV. This record will assist you later when you submit a claim.
- Get the names and contact information of any witnesses. You need to remember that individuals who witness an accident may stay to check on your condition, but after the cops and ambulance show up, they may quickly leave. You should get their names and phone numbers as soon as possible. Witnesses could play a crucial role. For example, a witness might verify that another vehicle collided with your car.
- Get immediate medical attention. You need to see a doctor as soon as possible for your well-being and get examined for injuries. Furthermore, if you see a doctor, it produces a record of your injuries. You must stick to your medical professional’s treatment plan as you improve.
- Report the crash to your own insurance company. While you ought to do this as fast as possible, you must stick with the facts. You do not have to admit or designate any fault. You should not give a recorded statement or accept a settlement agreement until you have talked to California hit-and-run lawyers and DUI accident lawyers about your case.
Hit-and-Run Accident Statistics
The United States has a specific law prohibiting the leaving of the scene of an accident without providing first aid and contacting the authorities immediately after the accident if any injuries have been sustained.
Between 2010 and 2019, 3,056 fatal hit-and-run accidents in California resulted in 2,948 deaths. As a result of the high number of automobile accidents in California, the state is known to have a high death rate.
According to the 2020 OTS ranking of the California Office of Traffic and Safety, Martinez had 3 hit-and-run fatalities and injuries and 26 DUI cases. With an average population of 37,195 in the same year, 48 were victims of different accidents.