Fresno Hit-and-Run Accident Attorneys

with over $500 Million Recovered in Compensation for Injury Clients.
You May Be Entitled to Compensation
Arash Law Practice Area Border/Divider
We’ll tell you if you have a case or not within five minutes, call (888) 488-1391

Fresno Hit-and-Run Accident Attorneys Turning Injured Victims Into Victors

Fresno is the county seat of Fresno County and the largest city in the greater Central Valley region that also encompasses Sacramento, Bakersfield, and Modesto. Fresno is the fifth-largest city in California with a 2020 population of 542,107 and the largest inland city in the state, and people who suffer injuries in a hit-and-run accident in Fresno should be sure to speak with a Fresno hit-and-run attorney.

Fresno is near the geographical center of California, about 220 miles north of Los Angeles, 170 miles south of Sacramento, and 185 miles southeast of San Francisco. It is also close to several major tourist attractions, including being about 60 miles south of Yosemite National Park, 60 miles west of Kings Canyon National Park, and 75 miles northwest of Sequoia National Park.

Fresno is the third-largest Hispanic-majority city in the United States, behind only San Antonio and El Paso in Texas. More than half (50.5 percent) of Fresno’s population was Hispanic in 2020.
Major roadways that run through Fresno County include Interstate 5 (I-5), California State Route 33 (SR 33), California State Route 41 (SR 41), California State Route 43 (SR 43), California State Route 63 (SR 63), California State Route 99 (SR 99), California State Route 145 (SR 145), California State Route 168 (SR 168), California State Route 180 (SR 180), California State Route 198 (SR 198), California State Route 201 (SR 201), California State Route 245 (SR 245), and California State Route 269 (SR 269). The Fresno Area Express (FAX) is the public transportation operator in Fresno, with more than 100 buses, 1,606 bus stops, and 18 routes.
Just as is the case with drivers in any other city in California, people operating motor vehicles in Fresno are expected to stop at the scenes of traffic accidents, identify themselves, and provide reasonable assistance to any victims of a crash. State law provides that drivers are expected to help people, whether they are the drivers of other vehicles, pedestrians, or bicyclists.
When a person fails to fulfill these obligations, it becomes what is commonly known as a “hit-and-run” accident, and the driver can face criminal charges. For people who suffer injuries in hit-and-run accidents, there will be an immediate fear that they will have no hope of recovering any financial compensation for their losses stemming from the crash.

The truth is that with the help of a Fresno hit-and-run attorney, a victim can actually have significant hope of holding a negligent driver accountable and obtaining all of the compensation that might be available to them. Even when you know nothing about the driver who struck you, an experienced Fresno personal injury lawyer can conduct an independent investigation into your crash that can secure important details that help identify the driver and allow you to secure necessary damages.

Arash Law, founded by famous attorney Arash Khorsandi, Esq. has a team of Fresno hit-and-run accident attorneys who have decades of combined experience in all kinds of automobile accident cases, and our record of success in these cases includes more than $500 Million recovered for our clients. We also offer a no-win, no-fee guarantee, meaning that if we cannot recover money in your case, you will not pay us anything whatsoever for our legal services.

You can call (888) 488-1391 or contact us online today to schedule a completely free initial consultation with our legal team.

Car Accident

$4,100,000.00

A farm worker, suffered multiple broken bones and other orthopedic injuries resulting from an auto accident where the defendant driver attempted to make a left turn in front of our client in heavy fog.
–  ARASH KHORSANDI

What Qualifies as a Hit-and-Run Accident?

California Vehicle Code § 20002 is the state misdemeanor hit-and-run law applicable to many hit-and-run cases. This law applies only to hit-and-run cases involving property damage.

Under the law, the driver of a motor vehicle involved in an accident causing only property damage must immediately stop their vehicle at the nearest location that does not impede traffic or otherwise jeopardize the safety of other motorists and immediately do either of the following:
  • Locate and notify either the owner or the person in charge of the damaged property of the name and address of the driver and owner of the vehicle involved and, upon locating the driver of any other motor vehicle involved or the owner or person in charge of any other kind of damaged property, and upon being requested, present their driver’s license and vehicle registration, to the other driver, property owner, or person in charge of the property. Information presented must include the current residence address of the driver and the registered owner. When the registered owner of an involved vehicle is present at the scene, they must also, upon request, present their driver’s license information or other valid identification to the other involved parties.
  • Leave a written notice on a motor vehicle or damaged property giving the name and address of the driver and the owner of the vehicle involved and a statement of the circumstances thereof and must, without delay, notify a police department of the city where a collision occurred or if a collision occurs an unincorporated territory, the local headquarters of the Department of the California Highway Patrol.

California Vehicle Code § 20001 is the state law making a hit-and-run crime a felony when an accident involves injury to or death of another person. This law states that a motor vehicle driver involved in an accident resulting in injury to or death of another person must immediately stop their vehicle at the scene of the accident and fulfill the requirements of California Vehicle Code § 20003 and California Vehicle Code § 20004.

Hit-and-Run Accident Statistics

The AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety reports that the 2,049 deaths during the most recent reporting period were the most on record and a 60 percent increase over the past seven years. More than one hit-and-run crash occurs every single minute on American roadways.

Insurance research and analysis website ValuePenguin reports that the number of fatal hit-and-run accidents increased from 1,342 to 1,939 over the course of a decade, and the number of deaths increased 44 percent from 1,393 to 2,005. California accounted for the largest share of fatal hit-and-run accidents during this period, with 17 percent of the American total and 2,948 crashes causing 3,056 deaths.

California had a rate of 8.8 fatal hit-and-runs per 10 billion miles and 104 deaths per 100 crashes. The age group most likely to be killed in hit-and-run accidents during the time period was 25- to 34-year-olds, as ValuePenguin said 687 drivers in this age group were killed in hit-and-run accidents.
Emperatriz Ayala
Emperatriz Ayala
Read More
My husband had an accident 2 years ago, a 85 years old man hit him, the Arash law group works very well on my husband case that took 9 month and he won the case and my husband was happy with the results. A year later I got into an accident as well and I’m still waiting in my case is almost resolving and it’s 9 months already. This people knows the law and they do their job right to help you out in getting the most for you to fight on your behalf. I strongly recommend the Arash Law firm they do things right in a efficient and professional manner.
Chris Zavala
Chris Zavala
Read More
Had a great experience with all the people at Arash law. Long story short was in a bad car accident. It was overwhelming and the whole process was a lot, but they kept me in the loop. They answered all my questions and gave me great advice. Couldn't be any happier. Would definitely recommend anyone looking for a personal injury lawyer. They'll guide you through the whole process!
Jill Smith
Jill Smith
Read More
Having Arash Law handle my auto accident was the best decision I could have made. Everyone I interacted with was kind, professional and detail oriented. I am extremely happy with the outcome and would recommend them highly.
Joseph R. Porter
Joseph R. Porter
Read More
From start to finish, Arash Law firm is there every step of the way with close, constant, personal contact and attention. I never knew a Law firm could actually care so much for me as a person and what I was personally going through as well as the settlement I was going to recieve once my case was finally completed. Thank you to everyone at Arash Law for your ongoing support and communication. You are the ONLY firm I will ever recommend to someone who is need of a great attorny.
Monica Parra
Monica Parra
Read More
I had an excellent experience with Arash Law. I will definitely recommend to my family and friends. I interviewed a few firms before deciding to work with Arash Law. What made my experience excellent was (i.e. head attorney being accessible to talk to and he answered all my questions and concerns, sensitive and thorough personel who completed in home intake & follow up process, being connected immediately to quality Physicians who addressed my injuries and recovery process, clear contract-read throughly to ensure its something you can commit to). Being in a car accident is a traumatic experience and I had a sense of peace knowing Arash Firm was walking with me throughout the whole process. Thank you Arash Firm for all your hard work and help. I am so grateful and appreciative for you all! 🙏 With Gratitude, Monica Parra
Previous
Next

How Many Hit-and-Run Accidents End Up Being Solved?

The Los Angeles Daily News reports that police identify a suspect or solve only 8 percent of all reported hit-and-run accidents in the city. Prosecutors file charges in 73 percent of cases.

The article notes some of the many challenges authorities can face in investigating these crashes. In many cases, it can be difficult to actually identify a suspected driver because even when there is an accurate description of a vehicle, there needs to be evidence that a suspect was driving at the time of a crash.
Security camera footage is not always helpful in these cases because it can rarely provide the make and model of a vehicle, let alone identify a driver. The Los Angeles Police Department (LAPD) said that it places greater emphasis on solving hit-and-runs involving injuries or death rather than property damage cases.

Hit-and-Run Laws in California

A hit-and-run accident causing injury or death becomes a felony case in California, and California Vehicle Code § 20002 establishes that a motor vehicle driver involved in an accident causing injury or death to another person must immediately stop their vehicle at the scene of the accident and fulfill the requirements of California Vehicle Code § 20003 and California Vehicle Code § 20004.

Under California Vehicle Code § 20003, a motor vehicle driver involved in an accident causing injury or death of any person must give their name, current residence address, the names and current residence addresses of any occupant of their vehicle injured in the accident, the registration number of the vehicle they are driving, and the name and current residence address of the owner to the person struck, or the driver or occupants of any vehicle collided with, and also give the information to any traffic or police officer at the scene of the accident. The driver must render aid to any person injured in the accident, including transporting or making arrangements for transporting any injured person to a physician, surgeon, or hospital for medical or surgical treatment if it is apparent that such treatment will be necessary or such transportation is being requested by a victim.

Any driver or injured occupant of a driver’s vehicle must also, upon being requested, exhibit their driver’s license or any other available identification to the person struck or to the driver or occupants of any vehicle collided with and to any traffic or police officer at the scene of the accident. California Vehicle Code § 20004 further states that in the event of the death of any person resulting from a motor vehicle accident, the driver must fulfill the aforementioned requirements, and when there is no traffic or police officer at the scene of the accident to whom to give the required information, must without delay, report the accident to the nearest office of the Department of the California Highway Patrol or office of a duly authorized police authority and submit with the report the information required by California Vehicle Code § 20003.

hit-and-run-accident-attorneys
Legal Consequences of Hit-and-run Accidents
In hit-and-run accidents causing only property damage, a person can face misdemeanor charges that are punishable by:
  • Up to six months in county jail
  • A fine of up to $1,000
  • Restitution to victims for property damage
  • 2 points on the California driving record
An injury case can also result in misdemeanor charges, but the penalties may involve the following:
  • Up to one year in county jail
  • A fine of up to $10,000
  • Restitution to victims for property damage
  • 2 points on the California driving record
In other injury or death cases, felony charges can result in possible penalties that include:
  • Up to four years in state jail
  • A fine of up to $10,000
  • Restitution to victims for property damage
  • 2 points on the California driving record

People Who Cause Hit-and-Run Accidents

Many different kinds of drivers can be at fault for hit-and-run accidents, so not every kind of driver will be the same. Some people may simply have no idea that they struck other objects or people, while there can be cases in which the drivers are aware and fear the consequences of reporting their accidents.

Some drivers can be fearful that reporting their accidents can expose them to possible driving under the influence (DUI) penalties. If the same driver is located not long after a hit-and-run accident, then they can be facing not only hit-and-run charges but also possible DUI charges as well.
Combined DUI and hit-and-run charges can result in much lengthier terms of imprisonment and larger fines because the penalties will be enhanced. If the negligent driver is located several days after the original accident, they may no longer be found to be in violation of the state DUI law.
When Hit-and-Run Becomes Vehicular Manslaughter

California Penal Code § 192(c) is the state vehicular manslaughter law and defines the crime of vehicular manslaughter as driving a motor vehicle in a negligent or unlawful manner and causing the death of another person. California Penal Code § 191.5(a) establishes that gross vehicular manslaughter while intoxicated is the killing of a person without malice in the driving of a motor vehicle where the killing was either the result of the commission of an unlawful act that was not a felony and with gross negligence or the result of the commission of a lawful act that might produce death with gross negligence, while California Penal Code § 191.5(b) states that vehicular manslaughter while intoxicated is the killing of a person without malice in the driving of a motor vehicle where the driving was in violation of state DUI laws in either California Vehicle Code § 23140, California Vehicle Code § 23152, or California Vehicle Code § 23153, and the killing was either the result of the commission of an unlawful act that was not a felony but without gross negligence, or the result of the commission of a lawful act that can produce death in an unlawful manner but without gross negligence.

A misdemeanor vehicular manslaughter without a DUI charge is punishable by up to one year in county jail and a fine of up to $1,000, while a felony case can result in up to six years in state prison and a fine of up to $10,000 and both cases can involve a driver’s license suspension of up to three years. Gross vehicular manslaughter while intoxicated charges can result in up to 10 years in state prison and a fine of up to $10,000, although alleged offenders with prior DUI convictions can face up to life in prison.
Hit-and-Run Penalties
Possible penalties for negligent drivers in hit-and-run cases depend on multiple factors, including whether a driver struck property or a person and whether they are deemed to be under the influence of alcohol or drugs while driving. A hit-and-run accident may result in either misdemeanor or felony charges.
Most misdemeanor cases involve only property damage and an alleged offender leaving the scene of an accident without identifying themselves to other parties after an accident. Injuries and death often result in felony charges.
The misdemeanor charges can result in up to six months in county jail and a fine of up to $1,000, although some misdemeanor cases can lead to as much as one year in county jail and fines of up to $10,000. Felony cases are usually punishable by up to four years in state jail and a fine of up to $10,000.
Hit-and-run cases can also result in orders for negligent drivers to pay restitution to victims and be subject to points being added to their California driving records. Alleged offenders may also be placed on probation for up to three years.
Win Your Case with The Help of Hit-and-Run Accident Attorneys in Fresno
Not all negligent drivers will face hit-and-run charges because some drivers may have acceptable defenses in their cases. Some of the most common kinds of defenses in these cases that have proven successful in certain cases include:
  • No knowledge of any injury or property damage – A negligent driver can simply argue that they did not know that they struck another person or property.
  • Responding to an emergency – A negligent driver can argue that they did not have the time to stop at an accident scene because they were busy dealing with their own medical emergency.
  • The owner was not the driver – Even when police have information identifying the make and model of an offending vehicle, the owner of that vehicle can argue that they were not the actual driver at the time of an accident.
  • Involuntary intoxication – A difficult defense to prove involves a negligent driver claiming that they were unknowingly suffering the effects of a drug or beverage that impacted their ability to operate a motor vehicle safely.
In this situation, seeking guidance from experienced hit-and-run attorneys would be your best bet on winning your claim. The highly skilled lawyers at Arash Law, under the direction of Arash Khorsandi, Esq., would help you acquire evidence to build a strong and solid case for you. Call (888) 488-1391 today for a free consultation.
Franchot M.
$610,000
Personal Injury Settlement
Our client was the victim of a rear-end accident who was left injured and severely in pain. Arash Law was able to outshine other injury law firms when he searched online, and thankfully we were able to handle everything for our client from A to Z — All that he had to do was ask and focus on his recovery. Our client’s life has changed forever, and the compensation received for the pain and suffering has opened paths for new lifelong opportunities.
Personal Injury Settlement
Our client was the victim of a rear-end accident who was left injured and severely in pain. Arash Law was able to outshine other injury law firms when he searched online, and thankfully we were able to handle everything for our client from A to Z — All that he had to do was ask and focus on his recovery. Our client’s life has changed forever, and the compensation received for the pain and suffering has opened paths for new lifelong opportunities.

Settlement Negotiations in Hit-and-Run Cases

One of the primary reasons that hit-and-run accident victims need to retain legal counsel is due to dealing with insurance companies (even when you are dealing only with your own insurer).
When a negligent driver is identified, a victim can file a claim with that driver’s insurance company, but you should not expect the insurer to simply be willing to pay you lavish sums of money just because you file a claim. The insurance company is going to do whatever it can to minimize its losses, often trying to find reasons to blame you for an accident.
These kinds of concerns make it critical for victims to let Fresno hit-and-run attorneys handle all conversations with insurers because many insurance companies will employ multiple deceitful tactics designed to get victims to say things that damage their claims. Never agree to provide any kind of recorded statement or sign any paperwork that you do not fully understand.
Even when you are dealing with your own insurance company, possibly in an attempt to seek compensation for a hit-and-run accident in which the driver cannot be located, the insurer will again be seeking to minimize your payout even though you are a customer. People can often file these types of claims when they have the appropriate insurance coverage, such as uninsured or underinsured motorist (UM/UIM) coverage, collision coverage, negligent driver insurance, or medical payment (MedPay) coverage.
When you hire a Fresno hit-and-run accident lawyer, they can deal with an insurance company on your behalf and begin seeking full and fair compensation that gives you every last dollar to which you are entitled. When an insurance company proves to be unwilling to provide an appropriate settlement amount, then the attorney can file a lawsuit to take your case to court.
If your case does proceed all the way to trial, then you can be in line for a jury to award you multiple kinds of compensatory damages. The phrase compensatory damages often includes a combination of economic damages and non-economic damages.
Economic damages are your actual, tangible losses. Non-economic damages are much more subjective kinds of harm without financial values. Economic damages may include your medical bills, lost wages, and property damage. Non-economic damages can cover your pain and suffering, disfigurement, and disability.
Contributing Factors to Hit-and-Run Accidents
Hit-and-run accidents are again increasing. The reason why such collisions are on the rise may be attributable to many different factors.

The Public Policy Institute of California (PPIC) reports that California is the most populous state in the country, with more than 39 Million people, making its population even larger than that of second-place Texas (29 Million) and third-place Florida (22 Million). The population is expected to reach 45 Million people by 2050, the state’s population more than tripled in the last half of the 20th century, and its growth rate was much higher than that of the rest of the United States.

Another common explanation can be the increase in the number of people engaging in distracted driving. The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) reports that nine people in the United States die every day in crashes involving distracted drivers.

The CDC Youth Risk Behavior Survey found that 60 percent of drivers 18 years of age or older admitted to texting or emailing while driving, compared to 51 percent of drivers 17 years of age and 31 percent of drivers 16 years of age. While distractions take many forms, there is little doubt that increased cell phone use is to blame for a significant number of distracted driving crashes, including hit-and-run accidents.

Finally, there is the common element of people being under the influence of alcohol or drugs. The most recent Annual Report of the California DUI Management Information System from the California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) shows that the 123,548 total DUI arrests in the most recent year were actually the lowest total of the past decade.

That said, the report also showed 1,294 alcohol-involved crash fatalities and 829 drug-involved crash fatalities. There were also 26,967 alcohol-involved crash injuries and 2,982 drug-involved crash injuries.
Common Characteristics of Hit-and-Run Victims

The AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety reports that pedestrians account for the majority of people killed in hit-and-run crashes. Approximately 1 in every 5 pedestrian deaths involve a hit-and-run crash, with 19.5 percent of pedestrian fatalities involving hit-and-run crashes compared to only 1 percent of motor vehicle driver deaths involving hit-and-run crashes.

AAA said that a study by Solnick and Hemenway analyzing FARS data on pedestrian hit-and-run victims in the United States found that victim age was a factor in whether or not a driver flees the scene. Fatally injured pedestrians under 6 years of age or over 80 years of age were half as likely to be victims of hit-and-run collisions as fatally injured pedestrians of any other age group.
Who-Is-Responsible-If-I-Am-Hurt-in-a-Car-Accident

Motor Vehicle Accident

$3,500,000.00

Settlement in a motor vehicle accident; client suffered internal injuries.
–  JUDD ROSS ALLEN
Common Kinds of Hit-and-Run Victims
The same Solnick and Hemenway study said men accounted for 70 percent of hit-and-run victims. The ages of the victims in hit-and-run crashes also impact whether a negligent driver is later identified.
In crashes involving children 6 years of age to 15 years of age, a driver is identified over 60 percent of the time; when victims are between 76 years of age and 80 years of age, a driver is identified 49 percent of the time; and when victims are between 31 years of age and 55 years of age, a driver is identified 39 percent of the time. The research also indicates that hit-and-run accidents are less likely to occur when there is greater visibility of crashes, meaning either more potential witnesses or better lighting conditions.
Common Kinds of Hit-and-Run Drivers
ValuePenguin reports that drivers 25 years of age to 34 years of age account for 22 percent of all deaths, followed by drivers 45 years of age to 54 years of age with 18 percent, drivers 35 years of age to 44 years of age with 16 percent, and drivers 55 years of age to 64 years of age with 15 percent.

The Los Angeles Times reported that a California law giving immigrants in the country illegally the ability to get driver’s licenses apparently contributed to at least a 7 percent decrease in the rate of hit-and-run accidents. A Stanford University study concluded that there were 4,000 fewer hit-and-run accidents in the same year the law took effect.

Factors Involved in Hit-and-Run Accidents
The AAA Foundation states that environmental factors like lighting, roadway geometry, and actual locations of crashes have been proven to be associated with the likelihood of hit-and-run crashes. Hit-and-run accidents are less likely in areas in which there is greater visibility of collisions.

A MacLeod study of single-vehicle or single-pedestrian fatal crashes found fleeing was almost 4.4 times more likely between midnight and 4 a.m. compared to accidents between 8 a.m. and 11:59 a.m. Hit-and-run crashes were less than half as likely to occur during daylight hours compared to nighttime crashes, and the later-hour crashes were also believed to be more likely times for DUI offenses or driving without a license issues.

Weather conditions were not concluded to be a major factor because poor conditions decrease the presence of pedestrians and also increase the likelihood of drivers remaining at the scene because of the belief that an accident was not their fault. AAA further stated that in California, interstate highways and county and municipal roadways were more common hit-and-run locations than the United States or state highway systems.

Fatal hit-and-run accidents are more common on roads with lower speed limits and areas in which pedestrians are likely to be crossing. Urban areas are also more common sites of hit-and-run cases because of greater population densities.

What People Should Do Following Hit-and-Run Accidents

Anybody who suffers injuries in a hit-and-run accident should immediately call 911. You want to report your accident to the local police department and get authorities to seek the negligent driver as soon as possible.

Always go to a hospital, even when you do not think you have suffered an injury. Remember that many injuries involve delayed symptoms, and creating a medical record immediately after an accident will be critical to your ability to pursue compensation later on.

  1. Do not try to chase after a hit-and-run driver yourself. Let police officers handle the apprehension of a negligent driver.
  2. Try to take pictures of your accident scene, including all signs of property damage, signage, or any other details you believe can be important to your case. Begin writing down
  3. everything you remember about your accident, especially any information you remember about the vehicle that struck you.
  4. See if there were any witnesses to your accident and ask them for their contact information. A witness may not only provide law enforcement with important information, but they can also prove invaluable in backing your injury claim in court.
  5. Make sure you report your accident to the DMV. You must report any motor vehicle accident resulting in injury, death, or property damage of $1,000 or more to the DMV within 10 days.
  6. Notify your automobile insurance company about your accident. Limit your conversation to just providing specific details about the crash, and try not to go into any further details.
  7. When you are able, contact a skilled personal injury attorney in Fresno who can assist you in pursuing damages relating to your case. A lawyer will know how to hold a negligent driver accountable, and they can also assist you in recovering compensation from your own insurance company when that driver cannot be located.
Arash Law, spearheaded by Arash Khorsandi, Esq., will help you explore all of your legal options after any kind of hit-and-run accident in California. We regularly assist people with all kinds of personal injury claims, so we have the necessary experience and dedication you will need to achieve the most favorable outcome for your case.

Call Us Today to Speak with a Fresno Hit-and-run Attorney

When you suffer injuries, or your loved one dies in a hit-and-run accident in the greater Fresno area, you will want to make sure you speak to the legal professionals at Arash Law, managed by Arash Khorsandi, Esq., without any delay. Our firm will quickly get to work investigating your crash and trying to identify the negligent driver while always working on ways to ensure that you can recover appropriate compensation for your losses.

Our Fresno hit-and-run accident attorneys help people all over California, including many cities around the Fresno area, such as Orange Cove, Clovis, Mendota, Sanger, Chowchilla, Selma, Dinuba, Kerman, Madera, Parlier, Hanford, Kingsburg, Lemoore, Reedley, and Visalia.

To learn everything you need to know about your legal options, call our firm today at (888) 488-1391 or contact us online. Our firm will handle your case on a contingency fee basis, which means that you will not pay anything upfront for our services, and you will not owe us anything if we do not get you a settlement or jury award.

Get The Latest News from The Best California Accident Law Firm Today

Thank You, We’ll contact you shortly.