Eureka Hit-and-Run Accident Attorneys

with over $500 Million Recovered in Compensation for Injury Clients.
You May Be Entitled to Compensation
Arash Law Practice Area Border/Divider
We’ll tell you if you have a case or not within five minutes, call (888) 488-1391

Eureka Hit-and-Run Accident Attorneys Dedicated in Turning Victims Into Victors

Northern California possesses unique features that distinguish it from southern California. Eureka is one of these features and one of the most inviting cities in the state. Located in Humboldt County, the city of Eureka is approximately two hundred and seventy miles north of San Francisco and is home to about 26,000 residents. Greater Eureka has the biggest deep-water port between Coos Bay and San Francisco. The city is a major commercial fishing port in California. Important industries in Eureka include the arts, healthcare, and government.

Eureka is home to 45,000 people, experiences very little temperature fluctuation due to its coastal location. The winters are wet, and the summers are dry, but interior regions are warmer during the summer. The City also contains many distinctive architectural landmarks. People love to vacation there and enjoy the state parks and excellent fishing in the area.

Although Eureka is an amazing place to live and visit, automobile accidents do occur in this idyllic place. Physical injuries can leave individuals temporarily or permanently disabled after a hit-and-run accident. Arash Law, founded by famous attorney Arash Khorsandi, Esq., represents clients who have suffered injuries during Eureka hit-and-run accidents in California.

Car Accident
$6,000,000.00
Our client was driving with his wife and son on a two-lane highway when a drunk driver crossed the double yellow lines, causing a head-on collision that claimed the life of a loving wife and mother.
–  ARASH KHORSANDI

Statistics for Hit-and-Run Accidents in Eureka

Hit-and-run drivers do not care about the injured victims, who may suffer from life-threatening injuries. Although most hit-and-run drivers flee the accident scene out of fear or panic, many do so to evade arrest. Also, many hit-and-run drivers abandon victims at the scene of an accident because they do not have automobile liability insurance.

Individuals are more likely to suffer injuries during hit-and-run accidents, particularly in populated states such as California. Since 2006, total hit-and-run accidents have increased to more than 745,000 every year. Annual hit-and-run accidents cause 400,000 physical injuries and 2,000 fatalities. The impact of hit-and-run accidents on public safety is enormous.

Unfortunately, the most vulnerable victims, such as pedestrians and bicyclists, are more likely to die during hit-and-run accidents. Also, most hit-and-run drivers are not identified or charged with crimes. Hit-and-run drivers cause victims and their family members to suffer financial insecurity and severe emotional distress.

The Locations in Eureka Featuring the Highest Number of Traffic Accidents
The following intersections are the places where most hit-and-run accidents occur in Eureka:
  • Del Norte and Union
  • V Street and Route 101
  • T Street and Route 101
  • R Street and Route 101
  • F Street and Route 101
  • Bay Street and Myrtle Street
  • 11th Street and M Street
  • M Street and Hodgson
  • K Street and Hodgson
  • W Street and Harris
  • F Street and Harris
  • Hodgson and H Street
  • Henderson and H Street
  • 6th Street and H Street
  • 7th Street and H Street
  • Hemlock and Dolbeer Street
  • H Street and Buhne
  • C Street and Buhne
  • J Street and 7th Street
  • 1st Street and 6th Street
  • H Street and 5th Street
  • 7 R Street and 4th Street
  • Del Norte and 1st Street
  • Buhne Street and 1st Street
  • 14th Street and 1st Street
  • 7th Street and 1st Street
  • 6th Street and 1st Street
  • G Street and 14th Street
Emperatriz Ayala
Emperatriz Ayala
Read More
My husband had an accident 2 years ago, a 85 years old man hit him, the Arash law group works very well on my husband case that took 9 month and he won the case and my husband was happy with the results. A year later I got into an accident as well and I’m still waiting in my case is almost resolving and it’s 9 months already. This people knows the law and they do their job right to help you out in getting the most for you to fight on your behalf. I strongly recommend the Arash Law firm they do things right in a efficient and professional manner.
Chris Zavala
Chris Zavala
Read More
Had a great experience with all the people at Arash law. Long story short was in a bad car accident. It was overwhelming and the whole process was a lot, but they kept me in the loop. They answered all my questions and gave me great advice. Couldn't be any happier. Would definitely recommend anyone looking for a personal injury lawyer. They'll guide you through the whole process!
Jill Smith
Jill Smith
Read More
Having Arash Law handle my auto accident was the best decision I could have made. Everyone I interacted with was kind, professional and detail oriented. I am extremely happy with the outcome and would recommend them highly.
Joseph R. Porter
Joseph R. Porter
Read More
From start to finish, Arash Law firm is there every step of the way with close, constant, personal contact and attention. I never knew a Law firm could actually care so much for me as a person and what I was personally going through as well as the settlement I was going to recieve once my case was finally completed. Thank you to everyone at Arash Law for your ongoing support and communication. You are the ONLY firm I will ever recommend to someone who is need of a great attorny.
Monica Parra
Monica Parra
Read More
I had an excellent experience with Arash Law. I will definitely recommend to my family and friends. I interviewed a few firms before deciding to work with Arash Law. What made my experience excellent was (i.e. head attorney being accessible to talk to and he answered all my questions and concerns, sensitive and thorough personel who completed in home intake & follow up process, being connected immediately to quality Physicians who addressed my injuries and recovery process, clear contract-read throughly to ensure its something you can commit to). Being in a car accident is a traumatic experience and I had a sense of peace knowing Arash Firm was walking with me throughout the whole process. Thank you Arash Firm for all your hard work and help. I am so grateful and appreciative for you all! 🙏 With Gratitude, Monica Parra
Previous
Next

California Hit-and-Run Statutes

California Vehicle Code Section 20002, or the misdemeanor hit-and-run statute, is an important statute covering hit-and-run accidents in California. Drivers in California may not cause property damage or flee the accident scene. But if a driver in California strikes another automobile, they must leave their contact details for the property owner.

The driver may choose not to provide this information and simply abandon the accident scene. The statute makes it punishable by law for a driver to flee an accident scene without providing identifying information to other parties. This is when the accident causes property damage. A maximum of six months in county jail and a fine of no more than $1,000 may be the penalties for violating California Vehicle Code Section 20002.

California Vehicle Code Section 20001 is the felony hit-and-run statute in California. Individuals charged with felony hit-and-run violations in California face more severe sanctions.

Conduct Regulated by California Vehicle Code Section 20002
The state must prove the following elements to convict someone of violating California Vehicle Code Section 20002:
  • The individual damaged property belonging to another person.
  • The individual did not provide contact information to others involved in the accident.
  • The individual fled the accident scene.

California Vehicle Code Section 20002 and Defining Hit-and-Run Offenses

The state must establish the following elements to convict an individual of a hit-and-run offense in California:
  • The individual did not fulfill the following duties: (1) giving the party who owned the damaged property their contact information, including their name and physical address, or (2) stopping at the accident scene immediately after the event.
  • The responsible party had actual knowledge that an accident had occurred and the accident damaged another person’s property.
  • The accident damaged property owned by another party.
  • The responsible party was driving when the accident happened.
California Hit-and-Run Statutes
California Vehicle Code Section 20002 and Penalties
California Vehicle Code Section 20002 and Penalties

Misdemeanor hit-and-run offenses may be punished by a maximum six-month term in county jail and a monetary fine of $1,000. Also, those convicted of violating California Vehicle Code Section 2002 can face a three-year term of probation, two points added to their California motor vehicle record, and restitution payments to injured victims.

Driving without a Valid Driver’s License: California Vehicle Code Section 12500

Drivers in California must have a California driver’s license and renew their licenses before the driver’s license expiration date. An individual who fails to do so violates California Vehicle Code Section 12500.

California Vehicle Code Section 12500 may be charged as either a misdemeanor or an infraction. If the violation is charged as a misdemeanor, the penalties are as follows:
  • A term in county jail and a monetary fine
  • A maximum monetary fine of $1,000
  • A six-month term of imprisonment in county jail
A violation of California Vehicle Code Section 12500 may also be charged as an infraction. The maximum sanction if the code violation is charged as an infraction is a maximum monetary fine of $250.
Driving without a Valid Driver’s License: California Jury Instructions
The following elements must be established by the state to prove that an individual violated California Vehicle Code Section 12500:
  • The individual was not excused from having a California driver’s license.
  • The individual did not possess a valid California driver’s license.
  • The individual must have been driving on a highway.
For example, a grandmother may have forgotten to renew her driver’s license. The grandmother may be charged with violating California Vehicle Code Section 12500.
Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol or Drugs: California Vehicle Code Section 23152

Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs is a serious offense. Drivers who violate California Vehicle Code Section 23152 may be charged with a felony or a misdemeanor, depending on if they have prior convictions for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs.

The penalties for a misdemeanor driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs conviction are as follows:
  • Attendance at defensive driving school
  • A $390 monetary fine plus additional court fees
  • A term of imprisonment in county jail for no more than one year
  • A term of probation for three years to five years
  • Suspension of driver’s license for a minimum of six months
  • Higher automobile liability insurance rates
Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol or Drugs: California Jury Instructions
The following elements must be established by the state to convict an individual of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs:
  • The individual was under the influence of alcohol or drugs (or both).
  • The individual must have been driving.
A young man may stop at a bar and have a few drinks after work. If the young man subsequently drives and is stopped by a law enforcement officer, and the driver is under the influence of alcohol or drugs, the young man may be charged with driving under the influence of alcohol.

Felony Hit-and-Run Offenses: California Vehicle Code Section 20001

Felony hit-and-run offenses occur when a party other than the driver suffers serious bodily injury or death, and the driver flees the accident scene without providing any contact information.
Individuals who violate California Vehicle Code Section 20001 may be charged with either a felony or a misdemeanor. The penalties for misdemeanor hit-and-run offenses are as follows:
  • A maximum of one year of imprisonment in a county jail
  • A monetary fine between $1,000 and $10,000
The penalties for felony hit-and-run offenses are as follows:
  • A two to four-year term of imprisonment in a state correctional institution if the accident caused serious bodily injury or death
  • A term of imprisonment in a state correctional institution ranging from sixteen months to three years
  • A monetary fine between $1,000 and $10,000
Franchot M.
$610,000
Personal Injury Settlement
Our client was the victim of a rear-end accident who was left injured and severely in pain. Arash Law was able to outshine other injury law firms when he searched online, and thankfully we were able to handle everything for our client from A to Z — All that he had to do was ask and focus on his recovery. Our client’s life has changed forever, and the compensation received for the pain and suffering has opened paths for new lifelong opportunities.
Personal Injury Settlement
Our client was the victim of a rear-end accident who was left injured and severely in pain. Arash Law was able to outshine other injury law firms when he searched online, and thankfully we were able to handle everything for our client from A to Z — All that he had to do was ask and focus on his recovery. Our client’s life has changed forever, and the compensation received for the pain and suffering has opened paths for new lifelong opportunities.
Felony Hit-and-Run Offenses: California Jury Instructions
The following elements must be established for the state to convict an individual of a felony hit-and-run offense:
  • The accident caused another party serious bodily injury or death.
  • The accident happened while the responsible party was driving.
  • The state must also prove that the individual responsible for the accident knew the accident caused serious bodily injury or death and that the individual responsible did not provide contact information, offer assistance, or immediately stop at the accident scene.
Felony Hit-and-Run Offenses_ California Jury Instructions
Motor Vehicle Accident
$3,500,000.00
Settlement in a motor vehicle accident; client suffered internal injuries.
–  JUDD ROSS ALLEN
Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol and Causing Bodily Injury: California Vehicle Code Section 23153

A driver may be intoxicated and cause an accident that results in another person suffering a serious bodily injury or worse. California Vehicle Code Section 23153 is the statute in California that sets forth the elements of this offense.

Violations of California Vehicle Code Section 23153 may be charged as either a felony or a misdemeanor. The driver responsible for the accident may have prior convictions for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs. These past convictions can affect whether the state charges a defendant with a misdemeanor or a felony. Individuals charged with a third driving under the influence offense are automatically charged with a felony offense.

The penalties for a misdemeanor violation of California Vehicle Code Section 23153 include the following:
  • Mandatory participation in an alcohol and drug education program that may last three, nine, eighteen, or thirty months
  • Restitution payments to injured victims
  • Suspension of the driver’s California driver’s license for a minimum of one year and a maximum of three years
  • Monetary fines ranging from $390 to $5,000
  • A term of imprisonment in a county jail for no longer than one year
  • A term of probation lasting from three to five years
The penalties for a felony violation of California Vehicle Code Section 23153 include the following:
  • Points added to the driver’s California motor vehicle record
  • A mandatory five-year suspension of the offender’s California driver’s license
  • The driver will be deemed a habitual traffic offender for at least three years
  • A mandatory eighteen-month to thirty-month stay in an alcohol and drug program
  • Monetary fines ranging from $1,000 to $5,000
  • A three to six-year term of imprisonment in a state correctional institution
  • An additional one-year term of imprisonment in a state correctional institution for every person who suffered bodily injury, up to three extra years of imprisonment
  • A two-year, three-year, or four-year term of imprisonment in a state correctional institution
Driving Under the Influence and Causing Injury: California Jury Instructions
The state must prove the following elements to convict an individual of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs and causing bodily injury:
  • The driver performed an illegal act or failed to adhere to a legal duty and caused bodily injury to another party.
  • The driver must have been driving an automobile while under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
For example, an intoxicated driver may be driving with a passenger in their car. If the driver strikes another car and causes serious bodily injury to the passenger, the intoxicated driver may be convicted of driving under the influence and causing injury.
Exhibiting Speed: California Vehicle Code Section 23109(c)
The following is stated in California Vehicle Code Section 23109(c): “(a) A person shall not engage in a motor vehicle speed contest on a highway. As used in this section, a motor vehicle speed contest includes a motor vehicle race against another vehicle, a clock, or other timing devices. For purposes of this section, an event in which the time to cover a prescribed route of more than 20 miles is measured, but where the vehicle does not exceed the speed limits, is not a speed contest.”

The state may charge violations of California Vehicle Code Section 23109(c) as either felonies or misdemeanors. Sometimes a driving under the influence offense may be pleaded down to a California Vehicle Code Section 23109(c) offense.

The driver may face the following penalties if they are convicted of a speed exhibition offense in California:
  • The individual’s driver’s license may be suspended for a period ranging from ninety days to six months.
  • The individual may be ordered to complete forty hours of community service.
  • The individual may face a term of imprisonment or a monetary fine.
  • The driver may be fined no less than $350 but no more than $1,000.
  • The driver may be imprisoned in a county jail for a minimum of twenty-four hours but no longer than ninety days.
Exhibiting Speed Offenses: California Jury Instructions
The state must prove the following elements to convict an individual of an exhibiting speed offense:
  • The driver engaged in an unsafe rate of speed to display their actions to others.
  • The driver willfully participated in exhibiting speed.

Street racing is the most common activity related to speeding offenses in California. Two drivers may be stopped at a red light and then engage in an unsafe exhibition of speed when the light turns green. Road racing is dangerous and may cause serious bodily injury or death.

The above offenses are quite common in California. It is important to remember that a hit-and-run offense under California Vehicle Code Section 20002 is a serious offense. Injured victims can benefit from understanding how these offenses are charged in California.

Hit-and-Run Accident Victims in Eureka: Financial Compensation and Personal Injuries

Injured victims need to understand that they likely have valid legal claims if they suffered a serious bodily injury during a hit-and-run accident. Filing a civil lawsuit is the first step toward seeking financial compensation for personal injuries. The following are common types of damages associated with hit-and-run accident cases:

  • Loss of consortium – You may have lost a spouse or loved one in a hit-and-run accident. It is likely you can seek damages for the loss of your relationship. This is sometimes referred to as “loss of companionship”.
  • Lost earnings – You may have suffered serious bodily injuries that prevent you from returning to work. You may not have an income to help you pay medical bills and other costs associated with the hit-and-run accident.
  • Pain and suffering – Individuals who suffer an injury during hit-and-run accidents often experience severe pain and suffering. Some common forms of pain and suffering include loss of enjoyment of life, severe emotional distress, and post-traumatic stress disorder.
  • Medical bills – Medical expenses can add up quickly after a hit-and-run accident. Hospital fees, physical therapy appointments, surgical procedures, and prescription drug costs can be overwhelming.

Injured victims may also seek financial compensation for loss of future earning potential, mental suffering, and punitive damages. Hit-and-run drivers cause extreme suffering due to their actions. Seeking financial compensation from the hit-and-run driver is possible if the hit-and-run driver is identified and located. If the hit-and-run driver cannot be identified or located, you can seek financial compensation from your own insurance company.

Law Enforcement Agencies and Locating Hit-and-Run Drivers

Law enforcement agencies have many different methods they use to identify and locate hit-and-run drivers. The following information is often relevant to a hit-and-run accident investigation:
  • Details related to property damage can be important to a hit-and-run investigation. During a collision, one automobile will also produce residue on the object it strikes. Law enforcement officers can use these details to identify the make, model, and color of the vehicle driven by the hit-and-run driver.
  • Surveillance videos can provide recordings of the hit-and-run accident. It is possible that a nearby business recorded the hit-and-run accident and the hit-and-run driver. Video recordings can provide details about the accident that can help law enforcement officers locate and identify a hit-and-run driver. One of the most important features revealed by the video footage is the license plate number of the hit-and-run driver’s automobile.
  • Law enforcement officers will interview individuals who were near the hit-and-run accident at the time it happened. Bystanders, pedestrians, and other drivers may have witnessed the accident and the hit-and-run driver leaving the accident scene. These important witnesses may help law enforcement officers identify the hit-and-run driver.

What Causes Hit-and-Run Drivers to Flee Accident Scenes?

Hit-and-run drivers often flee accident scenes to evade arrest or avoid some type of punishment. Some hit-and-run drivers may have outstanding arrest warrants. Other hit-and-run drivers may be intoxicated and leave the accident scene to avoid being arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs.

Hit-and-run drivers are only concerned about their own welfare, and they do not care about the injuries they cause to victims of hit-and-run accidents. Also, hit-and-run drivers do not fit a uniform profile. Young people, older adults, and many others may possibly be hit-and-run drivers. The following are some of the most common reasons that cause individuals to flee an accident scene:

  • The hit-and-run driver is working at the time of the accident and does not want to lose their employment.
  • The hit-and-run driver flees the accident scene because they have firearms or drugs on their person.
  • The automobile the hit-and-run driver used was stolen by the hit-and-run driver.
  • The hit-and-run driver panics and flees due to fear and anxiety about the accident.
  • The hit-and-run driver fears being deported because they are not in the country legally.
  • The hit-and-run driver has an outstanding arrest warrant.
  • The hit-and-run driver does not have a valid driver’s license or automobile liability insurance.
  • The hit-and-run driver is under the influence of alcohol or drugs when the accident occurs.

Call Arash Law Today to Speak with a Eureka Hit-and-Run Accident Attorneys

Call Arash Law and the team led by Arash Khorsandi, Esq., today at (888) 488-1391 if you are seeking a hit-and-run accident lawyers in Eureka. Hit-and-run injuries can be extremely devastating, leaving you injured and abandoned at the accident scene without aid or assistance. Managed and operated by Arash Khorsandi, Esq., Arash Law has decades of experience representing clients in hit-and-run accident cases. We have recovered over $500 Million for clients in California.

The Eureka hit-and-run accident attorneys at Arash Law, led by Arash Khorsandi, Esq., represent clients from the following cities near Eureka: Magalia, Paradise, Clearlake, Chico, Central Point, Medford, Ukiah, Ashland, Grants Pass, Red Bluff, Anderson, Shasta Lake, Redding, Fortuna, and Arcata. We can help you with every aspect of your hit-and-run accident case. Contact us today to learn more about the legal services we offer.

Thank You, We’ll contact you shortly.