Pasadena Hit-and-Run Accident Lawyers
- Pasadena Hit-and-Run Statistics
- Elements of a Hit-and-Run Crime
- Legal Consequences of California Vehicle Code § 20002 Violations
- Other Consequences of Violating California Vehicle Code § 20002
- Statute of Limitations for Hit-and-Run Cases
- Investigating Hit-and-Run Accidents in Pasadena
- What Happens if You Cannot Identify a Hit-and-Run Driver?
Pasadena Hit-and-Run Accident Lawyers with theExperience And Knowledge When You Need It Most
Hit-and-run accidents can disrupt the peace of Pasadena’s streets, leaving victims in a painful and uncertain state. Since we founded our firm in 2009, Arash Law has fought for justice on behalf of such victims. The Pasadena hit-and-run accident lawyers at our firm have successfully recovered more than $500 million for our California clients.
Reach out to us at (888) 488-1391 if you or someone you love has been the victim of a hit-and-run accident in the City of Roses. We have a track record that speaks for itself.
Pasadena is a city in California that may be best known for hosting the annual Tournament of Roses parade on New Year’s Day (or Monday, January 2, when New Year’s Day falls on a Sunday). The accompanying Rose Bowl college football bowl game played at the Rose Bowl stadium in Pasadena. Pasadena is in Los Angeles County, only 11 miles northeast of downtown Los Angeles.
The 2020 United States Census reported that Pasadena had a population of 135,732 as of July 1, 2021, and the population was 51.2 percent female, with 18.0 percent of people being 18 years of age or younger, 16.1 percent being 65 years of age or older, and 6.0 percent being 5 years of age or younger. Among the Pasadena population, 36.1 percent of residents were Hispanic or Latino, 33.8 percent were white alone (not Hispanic or Latino), 17.9 percent were Asian alone, 10.0 percent were two or more races, and 7.8 percent were Black or African American alone.
Founded by famous attorney Arash Khorsandi, Esq., Arash Law has experience in helping the victims of hit-and-run crashes who are seeking financial compensation for their losses. We understand what needs to be done in these cases and help people get answers to their most pressing issues.
Arash Law, managed by Arash Khorsandi, Esq., has more than three decades of legal experience, and we have recovered more than $500 million for our clients. Better yet, we handle every case on a No-Win, No-Fee guarantee, which means that you will not have to worry about paying us anything unless we win or settle your case.
Our firm understands that hiring a good Pasadena hit-and-run accident lawyer can be a challenging process for many people, but we will do our best to help you understand what we can offer as soon as we meet with you. You should also know that we are willing to come to you in your home or hospital room when you cannot make it to our local Pasadena office.
Arash Law, spearheaded by Arash Khorsandi, Esq., can take the lead in your personal injury case and deal with all the court requirements, so you have absolutely nothing to worry about. We work very hard to please our clients, and we will do whatever it takes to ensure that you can recover every single dollar that is available to you.
A farm worker, suffered multiple broken bones and other orthopedic injuries resulting from an auto accident where the defendant driver attempted to make a left turn in front of our client in heavy fog.– ARASH KHORSANDI
Pasadena Hit-and-Run Statistics
The California Office of Traffic Safety (OTS) reported that Pasadena had 647 fatal and injury crashes in 2020. The total was the 22nd highest out of 61 locations.
According to the Transportation Injury Mapping System from the University of California, Berkeley (UC Berkeley), Pasadena had 606 total crashes in 2020 that resulted in eight deaths and 843 injuries. The total included 42 pedestrian crashes, 44 bicycle crashes, and 31 motorcycle crashes.
Defining Hit-and-Run Accidents and How They Happen
California Vehicle Code § 20002 is the state misdemeanor hit-and-run law, while California Vehicle Code § 20001 is both a misdemeanor and a felony statute. Both laws state that a person involved in an accident must immediately stop their vehicle at the nearest location that does not impede traffic or otherwise jeopardize the safety of other motorists.
- Driving drunk or under the influence of drugs
- Driving without a license
- Driving with a suspended license
- Afraid of losing their license because of past traffic citations
- Driving a stolen or borrowed vehicle
- In possession of stolen property or drugs
Understanding the intricacies of hit-and-run accidents in Pasadena is crucial to building a compelling case. While reasons for fleeing the scene can vary, victims are left bearing the weight of the aftermath. If you or a loved one has been at the receiving end of such negligence, it’s vital to align with a legal team deeply familiar with California’s Vehicle Codes and the motivations behind these crimes. At Arash Law, our Pasadena hit-and-run accident lawyers don’t just know the law; they champion victims’ rights passionately and precisely. Secure the expertise of a firm that’s won over $500 million for Californians since 2009. Call us at (888) 488-1391 and let us navigate the complexities while you focus on healing.
Understanding California Vehicle Code § 20001
Under California Vehicle Code § 20001, the driver of any vehicle involved in an accident causing injury to a person or the death of a person must immediately stop their vehicle at the scene of the accident and fulfill the requirements of California Vehicle Code § 20003 and California Vehicle Code § 20004. Violating this statute can lead to felony charges.
Elements of a Hit-and-Run Crime
According to this document, a person will be charged with failing to perform a legal duty following a vehicle accident that caused death or permanent injury to another person in violation of one of the aforementioned statutes. To prove that a person is guilty of this crime, the state must prove that:
- While driving, the alleged offender was involved in a vehicle accident.
- The accident caused the death of or permanent, serious injury to someone else.
- The alleged offender knew that they had been involved in an accident that injured another person or knew from the nature of the accident that it was probable that another person had suffered an injury.
- The alleged offender willfully failed to perform one or more of the following duties:
- To immediately stop at the scene of the accident
- To provide reasonable assistance to any person injured in the accident.
- To give to the person struck, or the driver or occupants of any vehicle collided with, or any peace officer at the scene of the accident, all of the following information:
- The alleged offender’s name and current residence address
- The registration number of the vehicle they were driving
- The name and current residence address of the owner of the vehicle if the alleged offender is not the owner
- The names and current residence addresses of any occupants of the alleged offender’s vehicle who suffered an injury in the accident
- When requested, show their driver’s license, if available, to the person struck, the driver or occupants of any vehicle collided with, or any peace officer at the scene of the accident.
- Without unnecessary delay, notify either the police department of the city where the accident happened or the local headquarters of the CHP if the accident happened in an unincorporated area.
Legal Consequences of California Vehicle Code § 20001 Violations
Certain felony charges can be reduced through California Penal Code § 17b, which allows wobbler offenses to be reduced from felonies to misdemeanors. A court will determine whether to grant a reduction based on an alleged offender’s prior criminal record, behavior while under court supervision, the nature of the alleged offense, and any other mitigating or aggravating factors in the case.
Grasping the legal nuances of California Vehicle Code § 20001 is essential for anyone entangled in a hit-and-run case. The line between misdemeanor and felony charges can be razor-thin, depending on a myriad of factors. When you’re up against such complexities, having an ally well-versed in every facet of this complex offense is crucial.
At Arash Law, our Pasadena hit-and-run accident lawyers have the expertise to navigate these intricate legal waters, ensuring your rights are safeguarded. With a track record of recovering over $500 million for clients across California, you can trust our proficiency and dedication. Call us at (888) 488-1391, and together, we’ll pursue the justice you deserve.
Possible California Vehicle Code § 20001 Defense
- The alleged offender did not know – When a person did not know they had been involved in an accident or was not aware anybody had suffered an injury, they may not be convicted of any crime. A defense lawyer may claim a person did not know they had caused a severe collision resulting in death or injury since their vehicle was not directly involved in the accident. A person may also argue this defense when they were aware they had been in an accident but reasonably believed there were no injuries.
- The alleged offender did not willfully leave the scene – A person can argue that they did not leave the accident scene intentionally. They might say that it was not safe to stay there or that they had another emergency that required them to leave immediately.
- The alleged offender was the only person to suffer injuries – Again, a person’s legal obligation only comes into play when another person suffers injuries. When an alleged offender is the only party who sustained injuries after an accident, they cannot be found guilty of a California Vehicle Code § 20001 violation.
- The alleged offender was not the driver involved – Many people involved in hit-and-run accidents describe alleged offenders based on momentary glimpses of the offending vehicles. Descriptions are not always completely accurate, so it is always possible that the wrong person might be taken into custody.
- The accident caused no injuries – A person is only guilty of a California Vehicle Code § 20001 violation if they failed to pull over after an accident in which the person involved caused death or injury to another person. While it is a defense to prove a person fled the scene after a road crash involving no death or injury, they can still be convicted of a California Vehicle Code § 20002 violation if they fled the scene of an accident where the property was damaged.
If you or a loved one suffered injuries in a hit-and-run accident caused by a negligent driver, reach out to Arash Law. Under the direction of Arash Khorsandi, Esq., our esteemed Pasadena hit-and-run accident lawyers will work in your best interest. Call us at (888) 488-1391 for a free consultation.
Legal Consequences of California Vehicle Code § 20002 Violations
- Locate and notify the owner or person in charge of the property of the name and address of the driver and owner of the vehicle involved and, upon locating the driver of any other vehicle involved or the owner or person in charge of any damaged property, upon being requested, present their driver’s license and vehicle registration to the other driver, property owner, or person in charge of that property.
- The information presented must include the current residence address of the driver and the registered owner. If a registered owner of an involved vehicle is present at the scene, they must also, upon request, present their driver’s license information, if available, or other valid identification to the other involved parties.
- Leave in a conspicuous place on the vehicle or other property damaged a written notice giving the name and address of the driver and of the owner of the vehicle involved and a statement of the circumstances thereof, and shall, without unnecessary delay, notify the police department of the city wherein the collision occurred or, if the collision occurred in the unincorporated territory, the local headquarters of the Department of the CHP.
Elements of California Vehicle Code § 20002 Violations
- While driving, the alleged offender was involved in a vehicle accident.
- The accident caused damage to another person’s property.
- The alleged offender knew that they had been involved in an accident that caused property damage or knew from the nature of the accident that it was probable that property had been damaged.
- The alleged offender willfully failed to perform one or more of the following duties:
- To immediately stop at the scene of the accident.
- To immediately provide the owner or person in control of the damaged property with their name and current residence address and the name and address of the owner of the vehicle the alleged offender was driving
- The driver may locate the owner or person in control of the damaged property and give that person the information directly. On request, the driver must also show that person their driver’s license and vehicle registration.
- The driver can leave the required information in a written note in a conspicuous place on the vehicle or other damaged property. The driver must then also, without unnecessary delay, notify either the police department of the city where the accident happened or the local headquarters of the CHP if the accident happened in an unincorporated area.
Other Consequences of Violating California Vehicle Code § 20002
For victims grappling with the aftermath of incidents involving violations of California Vehicle Code § 20002, understanding the intricate consequences is just the beginning of the journey to justice. Emotional, physical, and financial strain can feel insurmountable. At Arash Law, we stand by the side of such victims, offering both a voice and a guiding hand.
As specialized Pasadena hit-and-run accident lawyers, we aim to ensure those wronged receive the justice and compensation they deserve. With a formidable track record of over $500 million won for our California clients, our commitment to victims is unwavering. Contact us at (888) 488-1391, and let’s begin your recovery journey together.
Possible California Vehicle Code § 20002 Defenses Hit and Run Victims Should Be Aware Of
- The alleged offender did not know – When a person did not know they had been involved in an accident or were not aware any property was damaged, they may not be convicted of any crime. A lawyer may claim a person did not know they had caused a severe collision resulting in property damage since their vehicle was not directly involved in the accident. A person may also argue this defense when they were aware they had been in an accident but reasonably believed there was no property damage.
- The alleged offender was not driving – A district attorney must also prove an alleged offender was the actual motorist of the automobile involved in the crash. Just because a person is a vehicle’s registered owner does not mean they were the person operating the vehicle at the time of the accident. A person may have loaned a vehicle to an acquaintance to run errands. Or another person might have accessed a car and taken it without the owner’s knowledge.
- The alleged offender’s vehicle was the only property damaged – If the damage was only to a person’s automobile and no one else’s property was damaged, a person can not be criminally liable under California Vehicle Code § 20002.
Retaining an experienced Pasadena hit-and-run accident lawyer can make dealing with the legal process a much easier process. They can help you file a claim, connect you to highly-skilled medical practitioners, and stay with you until you receive the compensation you deserve.
Statute of Limitations for Victims of Hit & Runs
Under California Code of Civil Procedure § 335.1, a person has only two years to file an action for injury to or the death of a person resulting from the wrongful act or neglect of another party. However, California Code of Civil Procedure § 338 establishes that a person has three years to commence an action to recover for physical damage to private property.
- Wrongful death – While a wrongful death lawsuit also has a two-year statute of limitations, the limitation period will not begin until the date of the death of a person. The date of death can be much later than the date of an accident causing their injuries.
- Injuries to minors – When a child under 18 years of age suffers injuries in an accident, the two-year statute of limitations will not begin to run until the child reaches the age of majority, meaning 18 in California. That child will have until their 20th birthday to file a lawsuit.
- Defendant unavailable – When a negligent party leaves the state, is in prison, or is found to be insane, then the statute of limitations may be tolled (delayed) until they return to the state, are released from prison, or become sane again.
- Lack of mental capacity – The statute of limitations can involve tolling for victims who do not have the mental capacity to take legal action. In other words, a victim who is in a coma can file a lawsuit once they regain consciousness. The same holds true for all other situations in which a victim happens to be incapacitated.
- Defendant bankruptcy – When a negligent party files for bankruptcy, the court will assume they do not have the money to pay any judgment against them, and a civil action can again get tolling until the negligent party’s bankruptcy proceedings are complete.
- Plaintiff is performing military service – When a victim happens to be a member of the United States Armed Forces engaged in active duty, their claim can get tolling for the duration of their time in the military.
- Plaintiff dies within six months of end of statute of limitations – If a plaintiff happens to die within six months of the conclusion of their statute of limitations, their personal representative will have six months to commence legal action on their behalf.
Time is of the essence when seeking justice for hit-and-run cases in Pasadena. With various stipulations, from the basic statute of limitations to distinct exceptions, navigating the legal maze can be daunting for victims. Whether it’s the nuances of the California Tort Claims Act, exceptions related to personal injuries, or unique conditions involving minors and military service, understanding each aspect is critical.
As committed Pasadena hit-and-run accident lawyers, Arash Law is here to untangle these complexities for victims and ensure they act within the required timeframes. Our dedication is reflected in the over $500 million we’ve won for clients throughout California. If you or a loved one is grappling with the aftermath of a hit-and-run, call us at (888) 488-1391. Let’s ensure that time remains on your side and justice is sought promptly.
Crimes Related to Hit-and-Run Charges
- DUI, California Vehicle Code § 23152 – This state law makes it unlawful for a person who is under the influence of any alcoholic beverage to drive a vehicle, for a person who has 0.08 percent or more, by weight, of alcohol in their blood to drive a vehicle, for a person who is addicted to the use of any drug to drive a vehicle, for a person who has 0.04 percent or more, by weight, of alcohol in their blood to drive a commercial motor vehicle, for a person who has 0.04 percent or more, by weight, of alcohol in their blood to drive a motor vehicle when a passenger for hire is a passenger in the vehicle at the time of the offense, for a person who is under the influence of any drug to drive a vehicle, and for a person who is under the combined influence of any alcoholic beverage and drug to drive a vehicle.
- Vehicular Manslaughter, California Penal Code § 192(c) – This statute provides that except as provided in California Penal Code § 191.5(a) relating to gross vehicular manslaughter while intoxicated, driving a vehicle in the commission of an unlawful act, not amounting to a felony, and with gross negligence, or driving a vehicle in the commission of a lawful act that might produce death, in an unlawful manner, and with gross negligence constitutes vehicular manslaughter. The crime also applies to driving a vehicle in the commission of an unlawful act, not amounting to a felony, but without gross negligence, or driving a vehicle in the commission of a lawful act that might produce death in an unlawful manner, but without gross negligence, as well as driving a vehicle in connection with a violation of California Penal Code § 550(a)(3), where the vehicular collision or vehicular accident was knowingly caused for financial gain and proximately resulted in the death of any person.
- DUI Causing Physical Harm to Another Person, California Vehicle Code § 23153 – This law makes it unlawful for a person, while under the influence of any alcoholic beverage, to drive a vehicle and concurrently do any act forbidden by law or neglect any duty imposed by law in driving the vehicle, which acts or neglect proximately causes bodily injury to any person other than the driver. It is also unlawful for a person, while having 0.08 percent or more, by weight, of alcohol in their blood to drive a vehicle and concurrently does any act forbidden by law or neglect any duty imposed by law in driving the vehicle, which act or neglect proximately causes bodily injury to any person other than the driver. It is unlawful for a person while having 0.04 percent or more, by weight, of alcohol in their blood to drive a commercial motor vehicle, as defined in Section 15210, and concurrently to do any act forbidden by law or neglect any duty imposed by law in driving the vehicle, which act or neglect proximately causes bodily injury to any person other than the driver. In a prosecution under this subdivision, it is a rebuttable presumption that the person had 0.04 percent or more, by weight, of alcohol in their blood at the time of driving the vehicle if the person had 0.04 percent or more, by weight, of alcohol in their blood at the time of performance of a chemical test within three hours after driving.
- Driving Without a License, California Vehicle Code § 12500 – Under this law, a person cannot drive a motor vehicle unless they hold a valid driver’s license issued under this code, except for people who are expressly exempted under this code. A person cannot drive a motorcycle, motor-driven cycle, or motorized bicycle, unless the person then holds a valid driver’s license or endorsement issued under this code for that class, except those persons who are expressly exempted under this code or those persons specifically authorized to operate motorized bicycles or motorized scooters with a valid driver’s license of any class. A person cannot drive a motor vehicle in or upon any off-street parking facility unless the person then holds a valid driver’s license of the appropriate class or certification to operate the vehicle. A person cannot drive a motor vehicle or combination of vehicles that is not of a type for which the person is licensed.
Resulting Injuries from Pasadena Hit-and-Run Accidents
- Broken bones or fractures – Broken bones are one of the most common injuries in all accident cases, and such injuries can involve several rounds of additional treatment.
- Head injuries – There are a wide variety of different head injuries involving trauma to a person’s head, including concussions, traumatic brain injuries (TBIs), or other kinds of brain damage.
- Whiplash – Whiplash is a kind of neck injury that often stems from sudden sharp movements of the neck. People can deal with chronic neck pain for a lengthy period of time.
- Spinal cord injuries – Damage to a person’s spinal cord can cause numerous lifelong problems and can also involve possible paralysis in some cases.
- Internal organ injuries – Injuries to the organs inside a person are tricky to determine and treat, which emphasizes the need for medical attention as soon as possible after any accident.
There is always the possibility that a hit-and-run accident is fatal. The record-setting Pasadena hit-and-run accident lawyers at Arash Law, led by Arash Khorsandi, Esq., help many people file wrongful death actions in these cases.
Settlement in a motor vehicle accident; client suffered internal injuries.– JUDD ROSS ALLEN
Investigating Hit-and-Run Accidents in Pasadena
Whereas a hit-and-run driver’s guilt must be proven beyond a reasonable doubt in a criminal case, their liability only needs to be proven by a preponderance of the evidence in a civil case, meaning more likely than not. This distinction is important because it is always possible that a hit-and-run driver avoids a criminal conviction but is still ordered to pay civil damages, as was the case with former professional football star O.J. Simpson, who was found not guilty of murdering both his wife, Nicole Brown, and her companion, Ronald Goldman, but had a civil jury later find him liable for the wrongful death of Goldman and battery against Brown, ordering him to pay $33.5 million in damages.
If you’ve been in a hit-and-run accident in Pasadena, you might feel lost. Don’t worry; our Pasadena hit-and-run accident lawyers are here to help. We know Pasadena really well, and we’re good at figuring out these types of cases. The police will help find the person who hit you, but we’ll help you get the money you deserve. If you need help or have questions, call us at (888) 488-1391. Since 2009, we’ve helped people in California get more than $500 million.
We’re here for you after these tough times.
What to Do After a Hit-and-Run Accident
- Remain where you are – You should never chase another driver, as doing so is not only dangerous but can also undermine your claim.
- Call the police to report the accident – Describe your injuries and the vehicle that hit you in as much detail as you can.
- Seek medical attention – All people involved in car accidents must always be certain to get prompt medical attention so they can have a complete evaluation performed on their condition, as many injuries involve delayed symptoms.
- Write down every detail – Help increase the likelihood of identifying a hit-and-run driver by writing down everything you can remember about their vehicle, including its color, make, model, and license plate number.
- Find witnesses – When there were any witnesses to your accident, ask them to write down what they saw and also get their contact information.
- Take photographs – Take photos or videos of the damage to your vehicle and the scene of the collision.
In the chaotic aftermath of a hit-and-run accident, clarity and proactive action are paramount. Each step, from resisting the impulse to pursue the fleeing vehicle to diligently documenting every detail, can make a significant difference in seeking justice and compensation. It’s not just about capturing the incident — it’s about empowering yourself in a situation where you feel powerless.
As dedicated Pasadena hit-and-run accident lawyers, Arash Law understands the weight of these moments. We’ve advocated for countless victims, securing over $500 million for our clients in California. Your actions in the immediate aftermath can significantly impact your case’s trajectory. Reach out to us at (888) 488-1391, and let our expertise turn your diligent actions into a compelling case.
What Happens if You Cannot Identify a Hit-and-Run Driver?
- No-fault insurance – California is considered an at-fault state, but people in a no-fault insurance state can recover compensation for medical expenses, lost income, and the cost of replacement services through their own insurance provider in some cases. Such benefits often have limits, depending on the amount of insurance a person has and state laws.
- Uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage – Uninsured motorist coverage (UM) and underinsured motorist coverage (UIM) provide financial compensation for damages caused by drivers who do not have sufficient car insurance. With UM or UIM coverage, unknown at-fault drivers will be considered equivalent to known at-fault drivers without insurance.
Financial Impacts of Hit-and-Run Accidents
- Medical expenses – Many people are going to have medical bills to pay because of their accidents, and medical expenses can continually increase throughout a case as a person continues to receive care for their injuries.
- Property damage – Many people involved in hit-and-run accidents will have damage to their own motor vehicles or other property. People have a right to seek compensation for property damage.
- Lost income – People injured in hit-and-run accidents cannot always return to work right away, and people have the right to seek money to make up for what they lost or will lose because of their accident.
Non-economic damages often relate to certain non-monetary losses, such as pain and suffering, emotional distress, or loss of consortium. After a hit-and-run, people aren’t just hurt physically. There’s a big financial hit too. Medical bills start to pile up. Cars need repairs. And if you can’t work because of the accident, you’re losing money every day.
Then there are the personal costs that you can’t put a price on, like pain, stress, and the strain on family ties. At Arash Law, we understand all of this. We’re your Pasadena hit-and-run accident lawyers who have helped people recover more than $500 million. If you’ve been hurt, call us at (888) 488-1391. We’ll stand up for you, making sure you get the money you deserve.
Why Choose Arash Law?
We Are The Hit-and-Run Lawyers Pasadena Trusts
If you are ready to move forward with a hit-and-run civil action to recover damages, you have incurred because of a crash in the greater Pasadena area, call (888) 488-1391 or contact us online to schedule a completely free initial consultation. Your consultation will be obligation-free, meaning you can discuss your case with us without necessarily having to hire us.
Our firm has served countless communities throughout the greater Pasadena area, including South El Monte, South Pasadena, El Monte, San Marino, Monrovia, Altadena, Glendale, Alhambra, Arcadia, San Gabriel, Rosemead, La Canada Flintridge, Monterey Park, Sierra Madre, and Temple City.