Modesto Hit-and-Run Accident Attorneys

with over $500 Million Recovered in Compensation for Injury Clients.
You May Be Entitled to Compensation
Arash Law Practice Area Border/Divider
We’ll tell you if you have a case or not within five minutes, call (888) 488-1391

AWARD-WINNING HIT-AND-RUN ACCIDENT ATTORNEYS in Modesto Turning Injured Victims into Victors

Modesto is considered the county seat and largest city of Stanislaus County, California. It is conveniently located 68 miles south of Sacramento, 90 miles north of Fresno, 92 miles east of San Francisco, and 66 miles west of Yosemite National Park. 

Modesto is home to the McHenry Museum & Historical Society, the Central California Art Association at Mistlin Gallery, and the Tuolumne River Trail. Other attractions include the McHenry Mansion, the Gallo Center for the Arts, the State Theatre, the Great Valley Museum, and Graceada Park. Due to the city’s abundance of attractions, accidents happen more frequently in Modesto.

According to the United States Census, as of July 1, 2021, Modesto had a population of 218,771, with 42.5 percent of residents being white, 40.7 percent being Hispanic or Latino, 8.8 percent being two or more races, 7.6 percent being Asian, 5.0 percent being Black or African-American, and 1.2 percent being American Indian and Alaska natives. The population was 50.9 percent female, with 13.8 percent being 65 years of age or older, 26.3 percent being under 18 years of age, and 7.4 percent being under 5 years of age.

The California Employment Development Department (EDD) reports that the biggest employers in Modesto include Bartles & Jaymes Co., Del Monte Foods Inc., E & J Gallo Winery, Frito-Lay Inc., Health Services Agency, Memorial Medical Center, the Modesto Bee, the Modesto Irrigation District, Pacific Southwest Container LLC, Patterson City Office, Stanislaus County Welfare Department, Storer Coachways, Sysco Central California-Wholesale Restaurant Food Supplies, the United States Postal Service (USPS), and Walmart. The Stanislaus Regional Transit Authority operates a local bus service that has regional service in Stanislaus County and connects to Bay Area Rapid Transit and Altamont Corridor Express stations.

Should you sustain severe injuries or your loved one dies in a hit-and-run accident in Modesto or another community in Stanislaus County, make sure you take the time to speak to a Modesto hit-and-run accident attorney at Arash Law, founded by Arash Khorsandi, Esq. 

Call (888) 488-1391 or contact us online to receive a free consultation so we can take the time to review your entire case and discuss what you can do.

Car Accident

$4,100,000.00

A farm worker, suffered multiple broken bones and other orthopedic injuries resulting from an auto accident where the defendant driver attempted to make a left turn in front of our client in heavy fog.
–  ARASH KHORSANDI

Modesto Car Accident Statistics

With a population as large as Modesto’s, motor vehicle accidents are fairly typical. The California Office of Traffic Safety (OTS) reports that the city had 2,059 people killed or injured in accidents in the most recent year. This ranks Modesto as having the third-highest number of accidents in the state.

With 15, Modesto ranked first in the state for pedestrian accidents involving children under 15, second for nighttime (9 p.m.-2:59 a.m.) accidents, third for underage drinkers, and fourth for pedestrian accidents overall. There were also 485 arrests for driving under the influence (DUI) and 263 speed-related crashes, the fifth-highest.
The Modesto Bee reported that Modesto was recently ranked second-worst among 59 cities for alcohol-related crashes and third-worst for crashes resulting in death. According to KXTV-TV reported that a Modesto family was dealing with six crashes on their property, including three in which vehicles landed in their home.
Dangers of Highway 99
The Modesto Bee also reported that four two-lane roads—West Grayson Road, Paradise Road, Shiloh Road, and North Carpenter Road—had 459 crashes or a 66 percent increase over five years. It was also mentioned that the California OTS ranked Modesto worst among its peer cities for traffic crashes.
California State Route 99 (SR 99), also known as Highway 99, runs through multiple cities in California and has earned a reputation for being a dangerous route. A study by ASecureLife found that Highway 99 was California’s third most dangerous highway with 110 fatalities, behind only the 192 fatalities on Interstate 5 (I-5) and the 139 fatalities on United States Route 101 (US 101).
Many factors affect Highway 99, increasing the danger it poses. First, the highway is generally deemed to be in poor condition because it is narrow and aging. There are also issues with poor lighting, as many accidents on the road occur at night. Both speeding and drunk driving are prevalent on Highway 99 because the speed limit is 70 miles per hour (mph).
KGO-TV reported that a study by ValuePenguin found Highway 99 to be the most dangerous roadway in the United States, with 34 fatal accidents and the highest number of fatal accidents per 100 miles of any other roadway in the nation. KFSN-TV also reported that California Highway Patrol Public Information Officer Steve Beal said he had “made countless DUI arrests on 99” and is usually looking for Primary Collision Factor (PCF) violations such as distracted driving and speeding.

California Hit-and-Run Laws

Regarding motor vehicle accidents, people generally have two options following a collision. They can either stop and exchange information with other drivers or parties involved or simply flee the scene.

Under California Vehicle Code § 20002, any person driving a motor vehicle involved in a crash causing injury or death must immediately stop their vehicle at the scene of their accident and fulfill the requirements of California Vehicle Code § 20003 and California Vehicle Code § 20004. People must take these steps whether they are involved in accidents causing property damage, injury, or death.

A driver must stop their vehicle at the nearest location that will not impede traffic or otherwise jeopardize the safety of other motorists. They must immediately do either of the following:
  • It is important to locate and notify the owners of the other vehicle or the person in charge of the damaged property of the driver’s name and address, as well as the vehicle’s owner involved. It is the responsibility of the other driver, the owner, or the person in charge of any other damaged property, on request, to present their driver’s license and vehicle registration to the other driver, owner, or person in charge of the property on request. The information a person provides must include the driver’s and registered owner’s current residence address. When a registered owner of an involved vehicle is present at the scene, they must, upon request, present their driver’s license information or some other kind of valid identification to the other involved parties.
  • Leave a written notice on a motor vehicle or damaged property providing the name and address of the driver and the owner of the vehicle involved as well as a statement of the circumstances and, without delay, notify a police department of the city where a collision occurred. If a collision happens in an unincorporated territory, a driver and owner must inform the local headquarters of the Department of the California Highway Patrol.
Not following these steps is a criminal offense. Drivers can face misdemeanor or felony charges. In this regard, classifications often depend on the amount of damage caused.
California Vehicle Code § 20002 Prohibitions

A person violates California Vehicle Code § 20002 when they do any of the following:

  • Leave the scene of a motor vehicle accident
  • Drive away without identifying themselves to other involved parties 
  • Cause damage to another party’s property
Emperatriz Ayala
Emperatriz Ayala
Read More
My husband had an accident 2 years ago, a 85 years old man hit him, the Arash law group works very well on my husband case that took 9 month and he won the case and my husband was happy with the results. A year later I got into an accident as well and I’m still waiting in my case is almost resolving and it’s 9 months already. This people knows the law and they do their job right to help you out in getting the most for you to fight on your behalf. I strongly recommend the Arash Law firm they do things right in a efficient and professional manner.
Chris Zavala
Chris Zavala
Read More
Had a great experience with all the people at Arash law. Long story short was in a bad car accident. It was overwhelming and the whole process was a lot, but they kept me in the loop. They answered all my questions and gave me great advice. Couldn't be any happier. Would definitely recommend anyone looking for a personal injury lawyer. They'll guide you through the whole process!
Jill Smith
Jill Smith
Read More
Having Arash Law handle my auto accident was the best decision I could have made. Everyone I interacted with was kind, professional and detail oriented. I am extremely happy with the outcome and would recommend them highly.
Joseph R. Porter
Joseph R. Porter
Read More
From start to finish, Arash Law firm is there every step of the way with close, constant, personal contact and attention. I never knew a Law firm could actually care so much for me as a person and what I was personally going through as well as the settlement I was going to recieve once my case was finally completed. Thank you to everyone at Arash Law for your ongoing support and communication. You are the ONLY firm I will ever recommend to someone who is need of a great attorny.
Monica Parra
Monica Parra
Read More
I had an excellent experience with Arash Law. I will definitely recommend to my family and friends. I interviewed a few firms before deciding to work with Arash Law. What made my experience excellent was (i.e. head attorney being accessible to talk to and he answered all my questions and concerns, sensitive and thorough personel who completed in home intake & follow up process, being connected immediately to quality Physicians who addressed my injuries and recovery process, clear contract-read throughly to ensure its something you can commit to). Being in a car accident is a traumatic experience and I had a sense of peace knowing Arash Firm was walking with me throughout the whole process. Thank you Arash Firm for all your hard work and help. I am so grateful and appreciative for you all! 🙏 With Gratitude, Monica Parra
Previous
Next

Definition of a Hit-And-Run Accident Under California Vehicle Code § 20002

If an alleged offender is accused of having been engaged in a hit-and-run accident, a criminal case will require a prosecutor to prove all of the following elements beyond a reasonable doubt:

  • The alleged offender drove and caused a motor vehicle accident.
  • The alleged offender’s accident damaged another party’s property.
  • The alleged offender knew of their involvement in an accident causing property damage, injury, or death.
  • The alleged offender willfully failed to stop at the scene of their accident or provide an owner or person in control of the damaged property with their name and current residence address.
Punishments Under California Vehicle Code § 20002
Hit-and-run crimes resulting in only property damage will generally be misdemeanors and may result in up to six months in the county jail and/or a fine of up to $1,000.00. Penalties can also include three years of probation, restitution for damage, and 2 points on a California driving record.

Certain misdemeanor crimes can be punishable by up to one year in county jail, a fine of up to $10,000, restitution to victims for property damage, and/or 2 points on California driving record.

Hit-and-run accidents causing injuries or death lead to felony charges that may result in up to four years in state jail, a fine of up to $10,000, restitution to victims for property damage, and 2 points on California driving record.

It’s important to get ahold of an experienced Modesto hit-and-run accident attorney who will help you comprehend your legal rights and obtain compensation for any damages, lost wages, or injuries sustained.

Related Criminal Offenses
Driving Without a License, California Vehicle Code § 12500

California Vehicle Code § 12500 applies to drivers who either fail to obtain a California driver’s license or renew it. It does not apply, however, to people driving on suspended or revoked driver’s licenses because criminal charges in those cases are instead filed under California Vehicle Code § 14601.1(a).

The offense is called a wobbler, meaning it can be charged as a misdemeanor or an infraction. A misdemeanor is punishable by:

  • Up to six months in jail
AND/OR 
  • A fine of up to $1,000
An infraction is punishable by a fine of up to $250.00 but no jail time.
Definition of a Hit-And-Run Accident Under California Vehicle Code § 20002
police checking drivers license after a hit-and-run-accident
California Jury Instructions for Driving Without a License

To prove that an alleged offender committed this crime, a prosecutor must prove that an alleged offender:

  • Drove on a highway
  • Did not hold a valid California license
  • Was not otherwise excused from the requirement to have a California license
California Criminal Jury Instructions (CALCRIM) No. 2221 establishes that the state must prove that an alleged offender drove a motor vehicle on a highway and, when they drove, did not have a valid California driver’s license, to convict an alleged offender. Alleged offenders can produce evidence demonstrating that they hold a valid driver’s license. If the evidence raises a reasonable doubt in a jury’s mind about whether an alleged offender held a valid driver’s license, the jury must find the offender not guilty.
DUI, California Vehicle Code § 23152
Under California Vehicle Code § 23152, drivers who are not allowed to operate a motor vehicle are the following:
  • Those under the influence of alcohol
  • Those with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08 percent or higher
  • Those with addiction to any type of drug
  • Those having an alcohol concentration of 0.04 percent or more and driving a commercial motor vehicle
  • Those under the influence of any drug,
  • or under the combined influence of alcohol and drugs
Depending on whether it is a person’s first, second, third, fourth, or subsequent DUI offense, they can be charged with a misdemeanor or a felony.

Certain DUI cases will involve aggravating factors that can increase the possible criminal charges. Most DUI cases, however, involve the following penalties:

  • First DUI offense in 10 years:
    • Three to five years of summary probation when blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is less than 0.15 percent
    • Three months or 30 hours of DUI school when BAC is 0.15 percent to 0.19 percent
    • Six months or 60 hours of DUI school when BAC is 0.20 percent or higher
    • Attendance at a Victim Impact Panel, nine months of 90 hours of DUI school, up to $1,000 in fines, six-month driver’s license suspension, and/or up to six months in jail
  • Second DUI in 10 years:
    • Three to five years of summary probation
    • An 18-month or 30-month DUI school course
    • Up to $1,000 in fines
    • Two-year driver’s license suspension
    • And/or up to one year in jail
  • Third DUI in 10 years:
    • Three to five years of summary probation
    • 30-month DUI school course
    • Up to $1,000 in fines
    • Three-year driver’s license suspension
    • And/or up to one year in county jail
California Jury Instructions for DUI
CALCRIM No. 2110 establishes that a prosecutor must prove that an alleged offender drove a vehicle and when they drove, was under the influence of alcohol, a drug, or both alcohol and drugs to convict them of DUI. A person will be considered under the influence when drinking alcohol and/or taking a drug means that their mental or physical abilities are so impaired that they can no longer drive a motor vehicle with the safety precautions a sober person will use and ordinary care under similar circumstances.
When the state proves beyond a reasonable doubt that an alleged offender’s blood alcohol level was 0.08 percent or more at the time of chemical analysis, a jury can but is not required, to conclude that an alleged offender was under the influence of alcohol at the time of an alleged offense. It is not a defense for an alleged offender to claim either that they were legally entitled to use a drug or that something else impaired their driving ability.

Felony Hit-and-run, California Vehicle Code § 20001

California Vehicle Code § 20001(a) stipulates that the driver of a motor vehicle involved in an accident causing injury to another person or the death of another person must immediately stop their vehicle at the scene of an accident and fulfill the requirements of California Vehicle Code § 20003 and California Vehicle Code § 20004. Failure to comply with the requirements may be a misdemeanor or a felony.

Misdemeanor penalties may include:

  • A fine of up to $10,000
AND/OR
  • Up to one year in county jail

Felony convictions can result in:

  • A fine of up to $10,000
  • Up to three years in state prison
  • Up to four years in state prison when death or serious injury occurred

California Jury Instructions for Felony Hit-and-Run Cases

CALCRIM No. 2140 establishes that the state must prove the following:

  • The alleged offender was driving and involved in a motor vehicle accident.
  • Another person died or suffered permanent and serious injuries during the motor vehicle accident.
  • The alleged offender knew that they had been involved in an accident injuring another person or knew from the nature of the accident that it was probable that another person had suffered an injury.
  • The alleged offender willfully failed to perform one or more of the following duties:
    • Immediately stopped at the scene of the accident
    • Provided reasonable assistance to any person injured in the accident
    • Given to the person struck, the driver or occupants of any vehicle collided with, or any peace officer at the scene of the accident all of the following information:
      • Their name and current residence address
      • The registration number of the vehicle they were driving
      • The name and current residence address of the owner of the vehicle if they are not the owner
      • The names and current residence addresses of any occupants of their vehicle who suffered an injury in the accident
    • When requested, showed their driver’s license to the person struck, the driver or occupants of any vehicle collided with, or any peace officer at the scene of the accident.
    • Without unnecessary delay, notified either the police department of the city where the accident happened or the local headquarters of the California Highway Patrol if the accident happened in an unincorporated area.
Jury instructions in these cases state that people commit acts willfully when they do them willingly or on purpose. In other words, people don’t need to intend to break laws, hurt someone else, or gain any advantage.
Providing reasonable assistance will mean that a driver must determine what assistance, if any, an injured person needs and make a reasonable effort to see that such assistance is provided by the driver or someone else. Juries must agree that the state proved that an alleged offender failed to perform at least one of their required duties and agree on the duty an alleged offender failed to fulfill.
DUI with Injury, California Vehicle Code § 23153

California Vehicle Code § 23153 applies to cases in which drivers operate motor vehicles while under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or both and cause accidents resulting in injury to other people. DUI causing injury is another wobbler offense, possibly resulting in misdemeanor or felony charges, and third offenses are automatic felonies.

Misdemeanors may be punishable by:

  • Up to five years summary probation
  • Up to one year in county jail
  • A fine of up to $5,000
  • Completion of California DUI school
  • A driver’s license suspension of up to three years
  • Restitution to any injured parties
  • Up to 30 months of participation in an alcohol and drug education program

Felony convictions can result in:

  • Up to four years in state prison with one additional year in prison for each person injured (up to three additional years)
  • A “strike” on a person’s criminal record, according to California’s Three Strikes Law, if any person other than the alleged offender suffers great bodily injury
  • A fine of up to $5,000
  • Habitual Traffic Offender (HTO) status for three years
  • Completion of a court-approved DUI school
  • A five-year revocation of the defendant’s driver’s license
  • Up to 30 months of participation in an alcohol and drug education program;
California Jury Instructions for DUI with Injury Cases
CALCRIM No. 2101 applies to DUI with injury cases. It also stipulates that the state must prove that:
  • An alleged offender was driving a vehicle.
  • The alleged offender’s blood alcohol level was 0.08 percent or more by weight while driving.
  • While the alleged offender was driving with that blood alcohol level, they also committed an illegal act or neglected to perform a legal duty.
  • The alleged offender’s illegal act or failure to perform a legal duty caused bodily injury to another person.
All members of a jury need to agree that the state proved that an alleged offender committed at least one illegal act or failed to perform at least one duty for an alleged offender to be guilty. In this regard, the jury must also all need to agree on which act the alleged offender committed or which duty they failed to perform.
Exhibition of Speed, California Vehicle Code 23109(c)

California Vehicle Code § 23109 is the state law providing that people cannot engage in motor vehicle speed contests on highways (defined as including a motor vehicle race against another vehicle, a clock, or other timing devices), aid or abet in any speed contest on any highway, or, for the purpose of facilitating or aiding or as an incident to any speed contest or exhibition upon a highway, in any way obstruct or place a barricade or obstruction or assist or participate in placing a barricade or obstruction upon any highway. Under California Vehicle Code 23109(e), convictions may be punishable by up to 90 days in county jail and/or a fine of up to $1,000, but violations causing bodily injury to another person may be punishable by up to six months in county jail and/or a fine of up to $1,000.

Additional penalties can include 40 hours of community service and driver’s license suspension for up to six months. Repeated offenses within five years of prior offenses can also involve aggravated penalties.
Franchot M.
$610,000
Personal Injury Settlement
Our client was the victim of a rear-end accident who was left injured and severely in pain. Arash Law was able to outshine other injury law firms when he searched online, and thankfully we were able to handle everything for our client from A to Z — All that he had to do was ask and focus on his recovery. Our client’s life has changed forever, and the compensation received for the pain and suffering has opened paths for new lifelong opportunities.
Personal Injury Settlement
Our client was the victim of a rear-end accident who was left injured and severely in pain. Arash Law was able to outshine other injury law firms when he searched online, and thankfully we were able to handle everything for our client from A to Z — All that he had to do was ask and focus on his recovery. Our client’s life has changed forever, and the compensation received for the pain and suffering has opened paths for new lifelong opportunities.
California Jury Instructions for Exhibition of Speed Offenses
Under CALCRIM No. 2202, a prosecutor must prove an alleged offender was driving a motor vehicle on a highway and, while they were driving, the alleged offender willfully engaged in an exhibition of speed. A person commits an act willfully when they do the act willingly or on purpose, but they do not need to intend to break the law, hurt another party, or gain any advantage.
Engaging in an exhibition of speed involves a person accelerating or driving at a rate of speed that is dangerous and unsafe to show off or make an impression on someone else. The definition means the state needs to prove that an alleged offender intended to show off or impress someone. However, it does not have to prove that the alleged offender intended to show off to or impress any particular person.

Is There a Statute of Limitations for Hit-and-Run Injury Claims?

When you are talking about the statute of limitations for hit-and-run accidents, the cases can be criminal or civil in nature. While the Judicial Branch of California website states that the statute of limitations for most personal injury claims is two years, Assembly Bill No. 184 modified the criminal statute of limitations for hit-and-run offenses such that the limitations period is now six years instead of three.

Even though the statute of limitations is shorter for civil personal injury claims, certain exceptions in some cases can allow for a limitations period to be extended. Such situations might include victims being minors (in which case, minors have two years to file after turning 18 years of age), victims not being mentally competent at the times of their accidents, and alleged offenders evading service out of fraud or being out of the country.
A Modesto hit-and-run accident attorney will know how to extend your statute of limitations when necessary. It is still in your best interest to speak to a hit-and-run accident lawyer in Modesto as soon as possible so they can have the time necessary to handle your case properly.

How Do Police Officers Find Hit-and-Run Drivers?

It is usually beneficial to get police departments involved in your hit-and-run accident right away because they generally have several ways to identify alleged offenders and take the necessary steps to apprehend them. A few ways in which police officers work through these types of cases include:
  • Run searches of accident scenes and set up officers in surrounding areas to locate and stop alleged offenders and their vehicles.
  • Through interviews with other drivers, passengers, and witnesses who provide detailed descriptions of alleged offenders and their vehicles.
  • Obtain surveillance footage from establishments in the area that can provide information about the vehicles involved.
  • Look at the damage to vehicles involved and property struck, used paint left behind, or other evidence that helps determine an alleged offender’s vehicle.

Common Causes of Hit-and-Run Accidents in Modesto

Car accidents all over California always have varying types of causes, so no two accidents are the same. Common kinds of causes include:
  • Distracted driving
  • DUI
  • Driver fatigue or drowsy driving
  • Failure to obey traffic laws 
  • Tailgating
  • Mechanical failure
  • Dangerous traffic design
  • Inclement weather 
  • Missing or malfunctioning traffic lights or signs
  • Poor road maintenance
The cause of an accident can also impact the type of crash you are involved in. For example, another driver operating on the wrong side of the road becomes much more likely to cause a head-on collision.

All hit-and-run accident victims need to understand that their injuries will certainly be unique to them but are not entirely foreign to most Modesto personal injury attorneys, who can advise victims on the steps necessary to get proper medical care and achieve the best possible recovery. When dealing with issues relating to necessary medical care, ensure you have a skilled Modesto hit-and-run accident lawyer on your side.

How Much Can You Get From a Hit-and-Run Accident Settlement?

It is misleading to try and provide a certain amount or even range of possible amounts for a hit-and-run accident because jury verdicts and settlements can vary widely depending on specific factors relating to each case. Negligent drivers who have valid excuses for leaving the scenes of their accidents will be less likely to be ordered to pay hefty amounts.

Most hit-and-run accidents in Modesto result in compensatory damages for the victims. To ensure you receive the total compensation you are entitled to, working with experienced Modesto hit-and-run accident attorneys who can help you build a strong case and negotiate with insurance companies and other parties involved is essential. Compensatory damages typically involve both economic damages and non-economic damages.

Economic damages are the kinds of personal losses people can prove with their bills like:

  • Past, present, and future lost wages
  • Past, present, and future medical bills
  • Property damage
  • Reduced earning potential 
  • Other out-of-pocket costs

Non-economic damages are much more difficult to quantify because the types of harm will be more subjective, and examples may include:

  • Pain and suffering
  • Physical disfigurement
  • Emotional distress
  • Disability 
  • Loss of enjoyment in life

Common Kinds of Hit-and-Run Accident Injuries

People can suffer a wide range of possible injuries in a hit-and-run accident, with some victims only suffering minor injuries while others will experience life-changing harm. Some of the most common types of injuries in these cases include, but are not limited to:

  • Broken bones
  • Bone fractures
  • Contusions
  • Lacerations
  • Internal injuries
  • Strained and sprained muscles
  • Whiplash neck injuries
  • Traumatic brain injuries
  • Spinal cord injuries
  • Concussions 
  • Closed head injuries 
  • Back injuries 
  • Knee injuries 
  • Leg injuries 
  • Neck injuries 
  • Arm injuries 
  • Internal injuries 
  • Skull fractures 
  • Traumatic brain injuries (TBIs) 
  • Permanent nerve injuries 
  • Amputations 
  • Paralysis 
  • Severe burn injuries 
  • Wrongful death

Every person involved in any motor vehicle accident should always be sure to seek medical attention as soon as possible after their accident. The insurance company may claim that your symptoms resulted from another issue if you wait and see a medical professional days or weeks later. It’s important to contact experienced Modesto hit-and-run accident attorneys who can help you understand your legal rights and options and guide you through seeking compensation for any damages or injuries sustained.

Common Causes of Hit-and-Run Accidents in Modesto

Motor Vehicle Accident

$3,500,000.00

Settlement in a motor vehicle accident; client suffered internal injuries.
–  JUDD ROSS ALLEN

Steps You Should Take After a Hit-and-Run Accident

Every hit-and-run victim must take particular essential steps immediately after any accident. Ensure you do all the following:
  • Call 911 – After checking for injuries, call 911 and report the accident. Seek medical assistance when anybody suffers injuries.
  • Seek medical attention – When injuries are particularly severe, people usually receive emergency medical attention at the accident scene. You should still see a doctor even when you think you did not suffer injuries or they are particularly minor. Many serious injuries have delayed symptoms. Furthermore, you must have a medical record created as soon as possible after your accident for your injury claim.
  • Collect relevant evidence – When possible, collect as much evidence as possible at the scene of your accident. This evidence can include photos and videos of the vehicles involved, property damages or other signs of an accident, the other driver’s information, and any witness contact information.
  • Report the accident – Most insurance companies require people to report their accidents, even when they are not at fault. Contact your insurance company immediately and provide the basic information, but try not to give too detailed of an account. When the negligent driver’s insurance company contacts you, you should decline to provide any statement until you have legal counsel from Modesto hit-and-run accident attorneys who can protect your rights and help you get the compensation you deserve.

5 Things You Should Not Do After a Hit-and-Run Accident

Just as you have certain things you will want to do, there are also specific actions you want to avoid. Some examples include:
  • Avoid arguing with the negligent driver about who caused the accident.
  • Never admit to fault or sign anything regarding the fault.
  • Never talk to another driver’s insurance company.
  • Never accept a settlement offer from an insurance company.
  • Never authorize any repairs until an insurance adjuster inspects your vehicle and sees the extent of the damage.

Reasons Why Drivers Commit Hit-and-Run Offenses

It can be difficult to know exactly why a person flees the scene of a motor vehicle accident. However, the reasons can become more apparent once an alleged offender has been identified and brought to justice. Keep in mind that almost any driver can be a hit-and-run offender, including teenagers, senior citizens, and everyday parents.
Some of the most common reasons why people leave the scene of accidents include, but are not limited to:
  • They were committing a DUI offense.
  • They did not have a valid driver’s license or proof of insurance.
  • They have active warrants or are otherwise wanted by the police.
  • They were in the United States illegally.
  • They simply panicked about not knowing how to respond.
  • The vehicle they were driving was stolen.
  • They had illegal drugs or guns on them.
  • They were driving a company vehicle and did not want to cause employment issues.

How our Hit-and-Run Accident Attorneys Can Help

If you’re involved in a wreck where the other driver fled the scene, you will want to speak to our knowledgeable Modesto hit-and-run accident attorneys right away. Not only will you get invaluable advice, but you can also get assistance in pursuing a civil claim.

Created by Arash Khorsandi, Esq., Arash Law can independently investigate your accident and then document your claim to build the most persuasive possible case. Our firm will handle all communication with other parties, including insurance companies and lawyers, so that you can focus completely on your recovery.

Our hit-and-run accident lawyers in Modesto know how important it is to help people get the most favorable settlements possible. When an insurance company is unwilling to provide a suitable settlement offer, we will not hesitate to file a lawsuit to take your case to court.

Reasons You Should Contact Arash Law
Hit-and-run accidents can leave victims in very difficult positions. It can be confusing for these people to attempt to navigate the complicated legal landscape.

Managed and operated by Arash Khorsandi, Esq., Arash Law understands the challenges people are facing and works closely with victims so they can understand all of their rights and the options they have every single step of the way. We work closely with hit-and-run victims to ensure that they can achieve some measure of justice.

We have decades of experience investigating these kinds of cases and working to help people recover as much money as possible. With a team of Modesto hit-and-run accident attorneys managed by Arash Khorsandi, Esq., Arash Law also knows how to work with medical treatment providers, so we can see to it that you can get all of the necessary care you need to achieve a full recovery.

Our firm can immediately step in and handle all dealings with insurance companies, so you will not have to deal with any of the tricks they will try to employ otherwise. We will commit to helping you get better and hopefully back to your original condition.

Talk to Our Modesto Hit-and-Run Accident Law Firm Today

The first thing you will want to know about working with Arash Law, led by Arash Khorsandi, Esq., is that you pay nothing upfront for our legal representation. Rather, we handle every case on a contingency fee basis, meaning we only get paid when we get you a jury verdict or a settlement.

Our team of attorneys in Modesto will know how to do everything possible to help make your life easier, whether dealing with medical bills, seeking car repairs, or handling phone calls from insurance companies. We understand how often victims end up getting blamed for their injuries, and we will fight to restore your good name.

Our process will begin with a free initial consultation to discuss your case, with you telling us all about what happened and asking us any questions you might have. We will do our best to give you complete answers so you can better understand your rights and the next steps.

It is essential to remember that California places a strict time limit on the ability of people to recover compensation for their losses, so you cannot afford to delay action in these cases. You will want to call (888) 488-1391 or fill out the contact form on our website to schedule a time to speak to our expert hit-and-run accident lawyers in Modesto.

Headed by Arash Khorsandi, Esq., Arash Law handles cases not only in Modesto but also in many other surrounding areas such as Ceres, Stockton, Riverbank, Atwater, Ripon, Tracy, Oakdale, Merced, Turlock, Garden Acres, Patterson, Country Club, Manteca, Livingston, and Lathrop.

Thank You, We’ll contact you shortly.