Riverside Hit-and-Run Accident Lawyers

with over $500 Million Recovered in Compensation for Injury Clients.
You May Be Entitled to Compensation
Arash Law Practice Area Border/Divider
We’ll tell you if you have a case or not within five minutes, call (888) 488-1391

 Powerhouse Hit-and-Run Accident Lawyers Protecting Injured Victims in Riverside County

Riverside, California, is a sprawling city with a large population, according to the most recent data published by the United States Census Bureau, 2.4 million people. Riverside is the 61st most populous city in the United States and California’s 12th most populous city.
Riverside is the county seat of Riverside County, California. It got its name because of its proximity to the Santa Ana River. Unfortunately, despite all the fantastic things about the city, there are dangers its citizens should be aware of, especially since Riverside is the home of the Ortega Highway-one of California’s deadliest stretches of road.

Accidents are unavoidable in Riverside. Sometimes, irresponsible drivers leave the accident scene without providing the information required by state statute. When a driver flees an accident scene, they are guilty of a hit-and-run. Accident victims can face lengthy recovery periods and mounting expenses from lost income because of a driver’s disregard for their responsibilities. The legal team at Arash Law, founded by famous attorney Arash Khorsandi, Esq., is committed to getting you the compensation you deserve after a Riverside hit-and-run accident.

The Riverside hit-and-run lawyers at Arash Law have decades of experience helping injury victims across Riverside collect over $500 million in compensation. We want to help you, too. Contact us today at 888-488-1391 or chat online to schedule a free, no-obligation case evaluation.

Car Accident
$4,100,000.00
A farm worker, suffered multiple broken bones and other orthopedic injuries resulting from an auto accident where the defendant driver attempted to make a left turn in front of our client in heavy fog.
–  ARASH KHORSANDI

General California Rules of the Road

Every driver must obey the general rules of the road. Driving is a privilege. To keep their privileges, drivers must obey traffic laws and avoid accidents. Standard traffic laws in California include the following:
  • Every driver must have a valid license.
  • California drivers must carry a minimum amount of liability insurance. Liability insurance covers another driver’s or passenger’s losses from an accident. California Vehicle Code Section 16430 requires every driver to carry $15,000 in coverage for one person’s bodily injury, $30,000 for multiple people injuries, and $5,000 for property damage.
  • Every driver must obey traffic laws.
  • Every driver’s vehicle must be properly registered.
  • Drivers must yield to oncoming traffic.
  • Drivers must avoid following too closely and causing rear-end accidents.
  • A driver must use caution when driving at night or in bad weather to avoid accidents.
  • Drivers must avoid distractions and not use handheld devices (e.g., cell phones).
  • Drivers should avoid driving while fatigued.
  • The lead vehicle must avoid sudden stops.

What is a Hit-and-Run Accident?

The law on hit-and-run can be found in California Vehicle Code sections 20001 and 20002. California law distinguishes between hit-and-run accidents involving only property damage and accidents that cause serious injury. Hit-and-run accidents that only cause property damage have less severe consequences compared to accidents that cause injuries, which carry more severe punishments. A hit-and-run accident resulting in another person’s injury or death is a felony offense.
California requires that a driver complete the following steps after an accident despite fault:
  • Stop the vehicle immediately.
  • Give the other driver their name, address, vehicle registration, and ownership information.
  • Provide reasonable medical assistance or help an injured person get medical assistance.
  • Call the police and remain at the scene until first responders arrive.
A driver must stop immediately. It is essential to understand the meaning of “immediately.” A driver must stop immediately, provide their contact information, try to render aid, and wait for the police. Even if a driver momentarily leaves the scene to get help and quickly returns, they may face a hit-and-run charge.

Under California Vehicle Code Section 20002, a driver is guilty of a misdemeanor hit-and-run if they leave the scene of an accident that caused only property damage. A driver will be charged with a misdemeanor if the accident only involves property damage to someone other than the driver. In addition to causing property damage, the driver will face a misdemeanor hit-and-run charge if they do the following:

  • The driver fails to stop their vehicle at the accident scene immediately.
  • The driver fails to present their driver’s license upon request.
  • The driver fails to leave a conspicuous note with their name, address, vehicle information, and an explanation about what happened even if the property owner is absent.
  • The driver does not immediately notify the property owner about the damage.
  • The driver failed to notify the nearest Department of California Highway Patrol.

Under California Vehicle Code Section 20001, a driver is guilty of felony hit-and-run if they leave the scene of an accident where someone other than the defendant suffered a severe injury or was killed. Additionally, suppose a driver does any of the following after an accident that results in injury or death. In that case, they are guilty of felony hit-and-run whether they left the scene or not:

  • Failed to stop at the scene
  • Failed to provide their name, vehicle registration number, vehicle ownership information, or address
  • Failed to show the other driver their driver’s license upon request
  • Failed to provide reasonable assistance to another driver (reasonable assistance includes providing or arranging transportation to a hospital or emergency room if a medical need is apparent).
  • Failed to immediately report the accident that resulted in death to the nearest Department of California Highway Patrol
Emperatriz Ayala
Emperatriz Ayala
Read More
My husband had an accident 2 years ago, a 85 years old man hit him, the Arash law group works very well on my husband case that took 9 month and he won the case and my husband was happy with the results. A year later I got into an accident as well and I’m still waiting in my case is almost resolving and it’s 9 months already. This people knows the law and they do their job right to help you out in getting the most for you to fight on your behalf. I strongly recommend the Arash Law firm they do things right in a efficient and professional manner.
Chris Zavala
Chris Zavala
Read More
Had a great experience with all the people at Arash law. Long story short was in a bad car accident. It was overwhelming and the whole process was a lot, but they kept me in the loop. They answered all my questions and gave me great advice. Couldn't be any happier. Would definitely recommend anyone looking for a personal injury lawyer. They'll guide you through the whole process!
Jill Smith
Jill Smith
Read More
Having Arash Law handle my auto accident was the best decision I could have made. Everyone I interacted with was kind, professional and detail oriented. I am extremely happy with the outcome and would recommend them highly.
Joseph R. Porter
Joseph R. Porter
Read More
From start to finish, Arash Law firm is there every step of the way with close, constant, personal contact and attention. I never knew a Law firm could actually care so much for me as a person and what I was personally going through as well as the settlement I was going to recieve once my case was finally completed. Thank you to everyone at Arash Law for your ongoing support and communication. You are the ONLY firm I will ever recommend to someone who is need of a great attorny.
Monica Parra
Monica Parra
Read More
I had an excellent experience with Arash Law. I will definitely recommend to my family and friends. I interviewed a few firms before deciding to work with Arash Law. What made my experience excellent was (i.e. head attorney being accessible to talk to and he answered all my questions and concerns, sensitive and thorough personel who completed in home intake & follow up process, being connected immediately to quality Physicians who addressed my injuries and recovery process, clear contract-read throughly to ensure its something you can commit to). Being in a car accident is a traumatic experience and I had a sense of peace knowing Arash Firm was walking with me throughout the whole process. Thank you Arash Firm for all your hard work and help. I am so grateful and appreciative for you all! 🙏 With Gratitude, Monica Parra
Previous
Next

Penalties for Hit-and-Run Criminal Charges in California

A hit-and-run conviction is a serious criminal offense in California. There can be life-altering effects. A person convicted of either a misdemeanor or felony hit-and-run may lose their license, spend time and money on probation, and face higher insurance premiums.
If the police find other infractions during the accident investigation, the defendant may face additional charges. Examples of other infractions include driving without a license, driving without insurance or with expired insurance, driving under the influence, and DUI causing bodily injury.
Below are detailed penalties for hit-and-run and additional offenses.
Hit and Run Involving Only Property Hit and Run Involving Injury or Death Driving Without a Valid License Driving Without Insurance First DUI Offense DUI Causing Bodily Injury
Code Section California Vehicle Code §20002 California Vehicle Code §20003 California Vehicle Code §12500 California Vehicle Code §16029 California Vehicle Code §23512 California Vehicle Code §23513
Violation Type Misdemeanor Felony Can be charged as a misdemeanor or felony N/A Misdemeanor Can be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony
Custody Time Up to 6 months in county jail Non-serious injury- up to one year; Serious injury or death- 90 days to four years in prison If charged as a misdemeanor, the maximum jail time is six months in county jail. N/A Up to six months in county jail Five days to four years in prison
Additional Penalties $10,000 fine If charged as an infraction, then the maximum fine is $250. First offense- $100-200 fine
Second and subsequent offense- $200-250 fine
$390-$1,000 fine
Three to six months of alcohol classes
Five months using Ignition Interlock Device
License suspended for up to four months
$390-$1,000 fine
Three to six months of alcohol classes
Five months using Ignition Interlock Device
License suspended for up to four months
  • Hit and Run Involving Only Property – California Vehicle Code §20002
  • Hit and Run Involving Injury or Death – California Vehicle Code §20003
  • Vehicular Manslaughter Without Gross Negligence – California Vehicle Code §12500
  • Vehicular Manslaughter with Gross Negligence – California Vehicle Code §16029
  • First DUI Offense – California Vehicle Code §23512
  • DUI Causing Bodily Injury – California Vehicle Code §23513
  • Hit and Run Involving Only Property – Misdemeanor
  • Hit and Run Involving Injury or Death – Felony
  • Driving Without a Valid License – Can be charged as a misdemeanor or felony
  • Driving Without Insurance – N/A
  • First DUI Offense – Misdemeanor
  • DUI Causing Bodily Injury – Can be charged as a misdemeanor or felony
  • Hit and Run Involving Only Property – Up to 6 months in county jail
  • Hit and Run Involving Injury or Death – Non-serious injury- up to one year; Serious injury or death- 90 days to four years in prison
  • Driving Without a Valid License – If charged as a misdemeanor, the maximum jail time is six months in county jail.
  • Driving Without Insurance – N/A
  • First DUI Offense – Up to six months in county jail
  • DUI Causing Bodily Injury – Five days to four years in prison
  • Hit and Run Involving Only Property
  • Hit and Run Involving Injury or Death – $10,000 fine
  • Driving Without a Valid License – If charged as an infraction, then the maximum fine is $250.
  • Driving Without Insurance – First offense- $100-200 fine | Second and subsequent offense- $200-250 fine
  • First DUI Offense – $390-$1,000 fine | Three to six months of alcohol classes | Five months using Ignition Interlock Device | License suspended for up to four months
  • DUI Causing Bodily Injury – $390-$1,000 fine | Three to six months of alcohol classes | Five months using Ignition Interlock Device | License suspended for up to four months
How Long is the Statute of Limitations for Hit-and-Run Charges

How Long is the Statute of Limitations for Hit-and-Run Charges?

A statute of limitations is the deadline state law sets within which criminal charges or a civil lawsuit must commence. Hit-and-run cases involve potential criminal and civil liability. Under California law, a prosecutor must charge a suspect with hit-and-run within six years of the accident. A prosecutor cannot take legal action against a driver for hit-and-run after the statute of limitations expires.

If a driver or passenger suffers injuries after a hit-and-run accident, they must settle their civil claim or file a lawsuit against the responsible driver within two years from the date of the accident. An experienced Riverside hit-and-run accident lawyer working for you can help, especially as you try to find the driver responsible for the accident.

An accident attorney can help you ensure that your case complies with the applicable statute of limitations and is not dismissed on technical grounds.
Riverside Car Accident Data
According to data published by the California Office of Traffic Safety, the state has seen an overall improvement in traffic safety. In 2018, the California Office of Traffic Safety reported the following data regarding Riverside traffic safety:
  • In 2018, more than 300 accidents that resulted in death or injury involved speeding. Speeding remains one of the most significant contributors to traffic accidents across the state.
  • Eight hundred seventy-five motorcyclists suffered injuries in Riverside. In 2018, 91 people died in motorcycle accidents.
  • One hundred pedestrians lost their lives in traffic accidents.
  • One hundred seventy-four people died in an accident that involved a driver who operated their vehicle while under the influence of alcohol.
  • Overall, 1,989 people died in traffic accidents across Riverside, California.

The overall number of traffic accidents and fatalities has decreased. According to the California Office of Traffic Safety data, the number of accidents decreased between 2018 and 2019 by 5.1 percent. In 2018, there were 3,798 accidents reported, and that number decreased to 3,606 by 2019.

Of all drivers killed in automobile accidents across the state in 2019, 50 percent involved at least one driver that tested positive for prescription or illicit drugs.

Common Causes of Riverside Hit-and-Run Accidents

Hit-and-run traffic accidents happen for various reasons. The city constantly tries to make the Inland Empire safer for drivers and pedestrians. Unfortunately, despite these efforts, traffic accidents happen throughout Riverside every day.
Some common causes of Riverside hit-and-run accidents include the following:
  • Inexperienced Drivers
  • Inclement weather
  • Bad road conditions
  • Vehicle defects
  • Speeding
  • Driving under the influence of alcohol and drugs
  • Running red lights, stop signs, and violating other traffic laws
  • Aggressive driving
  • Tailgating
  • Distracted driving
  • Reckless or careless driving
Franchot M.
$610,000
Personal Injury Settlement
Our client was the victim of a rear-end accident who was left injured and severely in pain. Arash Law was able to outshine other injury law firms when he searched online, and thankfully we were able to handle everything for our client from A to Z — All that he had to do was ask and focus on his recovery. Our client’s life has changed forever, and the compensation received for the pain and suffering has opened paths for new lifelong opportunities.
Personal Injury Settlement
Our client was the victim of a rear-end accident who was left injured and severely in pain. Arash Law was able to outshine other injury law firms when he searched online, and thankfully we were able to handle everything for our client from A to Z — All that he had to do was ask and focus on his recovery. Our client’s life has changed forever, and the compensation received for the pain and suffering has opened paths for new lifelong opportunities.

Most Common Injuries in Riverside Hit-and-Run Accidents

Hit-and-run accidents can cause various injuries. An accident victim’s injuries after a hit-and-run accident are often severe. The most common injuries traffic accident victims suffer include the following:
 
The right legal team will fight hard so that you get compensation for each of these injuries. Hiring a legal expert puts you in the best position to recover maximum compensation. Attorneys understand the nature of compensation you deserve, how much money will be reimbursed to you after an accident, and legal terms and technicalities.

Where are the Most Dangerous Intersections in Riverside?

An accident can happen anywhere; however, in Riverside, certain areas are much more dangerous than others. Hundreds of people have lost their lives in these Riverside intersections. Drivers must proceed with caution to help reduce their chances of getting into an accident.
The following intersections are more prone to traffic accidents in Riverside.
Magnolia Avenue and Tyler Street
A driver must remain at the accident scene, especially if they are at fault. Each driver should stay at the scene until the police and other emergency services arrive to care for injured people.
Staying at the accident scene is important because the liable driver should take financial responsibility for the accident, and remaining at the scene is the easiest way for an injured person to identify the liable driver. In addition to financial responsibility, there are policy considerations for remaining at the scene of an accident. If a driver or passenger is severely injured, a non-injured driver can assist and save the injured person’s life.
Pierce Street and Golden Avenue
Many hit-and-run accidents are deadly. Accident victims are often pronounced dead at the scene. Again, stopping and remaining at the scene of a crash has public policy considerations. These laws intend to protect other drivers. For example, speeding is against the law, and police enforce speed limits to promote safety on public roads. The law requiring drivers to stop at the accident scene promotes protecting human life.
Jurupa Avenue and Van Buren Boulevard
A hit-and-run accident can cost you a ticket, but it can also cost you your life. The Jurupa Avenue and Van Buren Boulevard intersection is one of the most dangerous areas for Riverside drivers.
La Sierra Avenue and Cypress Avenue

Many Riverside citizens have fallen victim to this intersection. This intersection is the site of many of the most dangerous areas in the city. Some of these accidents have had such a significant impact that the vehicle’s occupants were thrown from their vehicles onto the street. Many of these accidents ended in death.

Who Pays for My Losses After a Hit-and-Run Accident?

Hit-and-run accidents present a unique challenge. Typically, the at-fault driver’s insurance pays for an injured person’s bodily injury and property damage after a crash. However, what happens if the responsible driver flees the scene?
California law treats hit-and-run accidents as uninsured motorist claims. Uninsured motorist insurance pays an accident victim’s losses when the liable party does not have insurance or has fled the accident scene. You must file an uninsured motorist claim with your insurance company.
Filing an uninsured motorist claim can be tricky. Seeking legal help before pursuing compensation through this policy provision helps protect your rights after an accident.

Damages Available After a Hit-and-Run Accident

The victim could recover damages if a negligent driver caused a hit-and-run accident. The amount of compensation depends on several factors, including:
  • The severity of your injuries
  • Whether you suffered mental anguish or emotional trauma
  • Whether you received a diagnosis of Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder
  • The severity of the accident
Examples of typical damages that a hit-and-run accident victim may recover include the following:
  • Lost income
  • Health-related expenses
  • Mental stress
  • Pain and suffering
  • Property damage
  • The cost of hiring caregiving and domestic services
Where are the Most Dangerous Intersections in Riverside
Motor Vehicle Accident
$3,500,000.00
Settlement in a motor vehicle accident; client suffered internal injuries.
–  JUDD ROSS ALLEN

What Should I Do After a Hit-and-Run Accident?

If you are the victim of a hit-and-run accident, the steps you take after the crash are critical. It is a crime to leave an accident scene before completing the legal requirements listed above. Despite exposing themselves to criminal liability, some drivers leave the scene. Most drivers flee because they do not have insurance or have insufficient insurance coverage. A hit-and-run driver should never stop you from pursuing compensation or justice after an accident.
Consider taking these steps after an accident to protect your physical well-being and legal rights.
Call 9-1-1
After an accident, assessing if anyone needs medical attention is essential. California law requires that a driver try to render medical assistance to an injured person after a crash. In addition to checking on others, seek medical attention for yourself.
Getting prompt medical care after a crash can help you find injuries that are not immediately apparent. For example, you may have a concussion or internal bleeding. You cannot self-diagnose these conditions; they can progress if untreated.
In addition to your physical well-being, seeking medical care immediately after an accident can help defeat the opposing insurance company’s argument that something else caused your injuries or that they are not as severe as you claim.
Look for Witnesses
First, get to a safe place on the side of the road. After getting to safety, look around the scene for potential witnesses. Collect their names and contact information if you find eyewitnesses to the accident. If they are willing to, ask the witnesses if they will remain at the scene and give the police a statement.
File a Police Report
Stay calm and call the police. Explain what happened in as much detail as possible to the responding officer. It will help if you share as much as possible because the police report is critical in a car accident claim. Most insurance companies begin their investigations with the facts collected in the police report.
Contact Your Insurance Company
In a hit-and-run accident, your insurance will likely repay your injuries. If the police do not find the responsible driver, your uninsured motorist coverage will pay for your bodily injuries if you opt into this coverage. It is a good idea to have uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage.
Document Everything
Take good notes after an accident. Do not chase the other car. The other driver may be aggressive, and you may enter a dangerous situation if you try to find them on your own. Instead, pull over, and take note of the make, model, and color of the car. Getting a license plate number is very helpful; even a partial one can assist the police.

Why Is Hiring a Riverside Hit-and-Run Accident Lawyer Important?

Creating a legal team after a hit-and-run accident is essential to recover the maximum compensation available after a crash. Leveraging a Riverside hit-and-run accident lawyer’s skills and experience is the best way to ease the burden of recovering after an accident.

Your attorney will assist you from start to finish and create a case strategy that will set you up for success. Unfortunately, bad things happen to good people. When an accident happens to an innocent person, an attorney experienced with hit & run accidents in Riverside will help you get your life back on track.

In addition to the civil consequences of a California hit-and-run accident, there are also criminal penalties. An attorney’s protection can help mitigate or avoid a criminal conviction if you get charged with a criminal hit-and-run offense.

Riverside Hit-and-Run Frequently Asked Questions

After reading the information in this piece, you probably understand Riverside hit-and-run accidents, but you still have questions. Below is a list of frequently asked questions and some answers from our expert Riverside hit-and-run accident lawyers that may provide additional understanding.

What Is The Difference Between Misdemeanor And Felony Hit-And-Run?
A misdemeanor hit-and-run accident only involves property damage. A felony hit-and-run accident involves serious injury or death. A felony conviction can land a defendant in prison for up to four years. A misdemeanor conviction carries a maximum of six months in county jail.
What Type of Insurance Pays for Damages if You Are the Victim of a Hit-And-Run Accident?
Regardless of which driver caused the accident, your collision insurance will cover your property damage. If available, your uninsured motorist coverage will cover your medical expenses and bodily injury.
What Happens if the Police Never Find the At-Fault Driver?

Unfortunately, if the police do not find the at-fault driver, they escape accountability. Therefore, the accident victim must pay medical bills and other costs themselves. A good Riverside hit-and-run accident lawyer can help you file a claim with your insurance to cover the expenses after an accident.

Are Passengers Liable for Hit-And-Run in California?
While passengers are generally not held criminally liable for causing a hit-and-run accident, there are some circumstances when a passenger may share liability. For example, if the passenger encourages the driver to flee the scene or contributes to their negligent behavior, they may be charged as an accomplice.

Contact the Riverside Hit-and-Run Lawyers at Arash Law Today!

With many vehicles hitting the road daily in Riverside, California, a traffic accident is always possible. Unfortunately, some drivers do not understand or refuse to accept responsibility for keeping the roads safe. Some drivers even flee the accident scene to avoid taking accountability for causing an accident. Leaving the scene of an accident is a criminal offense, and if property damage or bodily injury happens, there is also civil liability.

Under the leadership of Arash Khorsandi, Esq., the legal team at Arash Law is committed to getting injured citizens of Riverside, California, the compensation they deserve after a hit-and-run accident. We want to help you recoup your medical expenses, lost income, and other related expenses after an accident. We have decades of experience collecting over $500 Million in client compensation. We want to help you, too.

We serve all of Riverside County and surrounding cities, including Corona, Redlands, Norco, San Bernardino, Moreno Valley, Rialto, Fontana, Lorna Linda, Mira Loma, Colton, Glen Aron, Bloomington, Pedley, Grand Terrace, and Rubidoux.

Call us today at (888) 488-1391 or chat with us online to schedule a free, no-obligation case evaluation with one of our Riverside County hit-and-run accident lawyers today. We look forward to speaking to you!

Get The Latest News from The Best California Accident Law Firm Today

Thank You, We’ll contact you shortly.