Long Beach Hit-and-Run Accident Lawyers
- How Does the Law Define a Hit-and-Run Accident?
- Common Scenarios for Hit-and-Run Accidents
- Why Do Hit-And-Run Accidents Happen in Long Beach?
- I Am Not Sure If I Was in a Hit-and-Run Accident
- How Can a Long Beach Hit-and-Run Accident Lawyer Help?
- What Should I Do After a Hit-and-Run Accident If I Didn't Cause the Accident?
- Potential Damages Available in a Hit-and-Run Accident
AWARD-WINNING HIT AND RUN ACCIDENT LAWYERS Protecting the Injured The L.B.C.
Long Beach is a beautiful city in California where more than 450,000 people call home. The coastline city is the home of the country’s second-largest seaport. Long Beach is a transport hotspot for cargo that helps get products to consumers nationwide. Because of its economic impact and popular tourist attractions, Long Beach is an important American city.
There are still options for Long Beach hit-and-run accident victims, even if the police never find the perpetrator. If you or a loved one suffered injuries or property damage in a hit-and-run accident, you may benefit from the services of an experienced Long Beach hit-and-run accident lawyers.
A farm worker, suffered multiple broken bones and other orthopedic injuries resulting from an auto accident where the defendant driver attempted to make a left turn in front of our client in heavy fog.– ARASH KHORSANDI
How Does the Law Define a Hit-and-Run Accident?
Under California law, there are two types of hit-and-run accidents. California Penal Code 20001 and California Penal Code 20002 define these accidents according to these statutes. A hit-and-run accident in California falls into one of two categories- involving bodily injury or death or only property damage.
Build a Solid Case with the Help of Our Long Beach Hit-and-Run Accident Lawyers
In California; a hit-and-run is a “wobbler” offense, which is also known as an “alternative felony/ misdemeanor offense,” it is a crime that prosecutors can charge as either a felony or misdemeanor. Other California wobbler offenses include domestic violence, sex crimes, and fraud.
California Penal Code 20001
Under California Penal Code 20001, a driver involved in an accident that caused another person bodily injury, including death, must stop their vehicle and render aid according to applicable law.
- Felony charges
- Up to one-year confinement in county jail or state prison, depending on the severity of the injuries
- A fine of not less than $1,000 and not more than $10,000
- A combination of a fine and jail time
California Penal Code 20002
- Misdemeanor charges
- Up to six months imprisonment in county jail
- A fine not exceeding $1,000
- Both a fine and jail time
The charges a hit-and-run accident defendant may face depend on the facts. Here are detailed lists of criminal penalties a driver may face if they cause a hit-and-run in Long Beach or other cities in California.
Detailed Criminal Penalties for a California Hit-and-Run
|Hit and Run Involving Only Property||Hit and Run Involving Injury or Death||Vehicular Manslaughter Without Gross Negligence||Vehicular Manslaughter with Gross Negligence||First DUI Offense||DUI Causing Bodily Injury|
|Code Section||California Vehicle Code §20002||California Vehicle Code §20003||California Penal Code §192 (c) (2)||California Penal Code §192 (c) (1)||California Vehicle Code §23512||California Vehicle Code §23513|
|Violation Type||Misdemeanor||Felony||Felony||Can be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony||Misdemeanor||Can be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony|
|Custody Time||Up to 6 months in county jail||Non-serious injury- up to one year; Serious injury or death- 90 days to four years in prison||Up to one year in jail or prison||Misdemeanor- Up to one year in county jail
Felony- two to six years in prison
|Up to six months in county jail||Five days to four years in prison|
|Additional Penalties||$10,000 fine||$390-$1,000 fine
Three to six months of alcohol classes
Five months using Ignition Interlock Device
License suspended for up to four months
Three to six months of alcohol classes
Five months using Ignition Interlock Device
License suspended for up to four months
- Hit and Run Involving Only Property – California Vehicle Code §20002
- Hit and Run Involving Injury or Death – California Vehicle Code §20003
- Vehicular Manslaughter Without Gross Negligence – California Penal Code §192 (c) (2)
- Vehicular Manslaughter with Gross Negligence – California Penal Code §192 (c) (1)
- First DUI Offense – California Vehicle Code §23512
- DUI Causing Bodily Injury – California Vehicle Code §23513
- Hit and Run Involving Only Property – Misdemeanor
- Hit and Run Involving Injury or Death – Felony
- Vehicular Manslaughter Without Gross Negligence – Felony
- Vehicular Manslaughter with Gross Negligence – Can be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony
- First DUI Offense – Misdemeanor
- DUI Causing Bodily Injury – Can be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony
- Hit and Run Involving Only Property – Up to 6 months in county jail
- Hit and Run Involving Injury or Death – Non-serious injury- up to one year; Serious injury or death- 90 days to four years in prison
- Vehicular Manslaughter Without Gross Negligence – Up to one year in jail or prison
- Vehicular Manslaughter with Gross Negligence – Misdemeanor- Up to one year in county jail | Felony- two to six years in prison
- First DUI Offense – Up to six months in county jail
- DUI Causing Bodily Injury – Five days to four years in prison
- Hit and Run Involving Only Property –
- Hit and Run Involving Injury or Death – $10,000 fine
- Vehicular Manslaughter Without Gross Negligence –
- Vehicular Manslaughter with Gross Negligence –
- First DUI Offense – $390-$1,000 fine | Three to six months of alcohol classes | Five months using Ignition Interlock Device | License suspended for up to four months
- DUI Causing Bodily Injury – $390-$1,000 fine | Three to six months of alcohol classes | Five months using Ignition Interlock Device | License suspended for up to four months
Common Scenarios for Hit-and-Run Accidents
- A driver operates their vehicle while under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
- A driver loses control of their vehicle and crashes into another person’s property.
- A driver is texting and driving or speaking on the phone.
- A driver crashes into another person’s fence, shrubs, lawn, plants, pet, or house.
What Does California Law Require of Drivers After a Hit-and-Run Accident?
- Stop your vehicle.
- Find the owner of the vehicle or damaged property.
- Exchange pertinent information, including names, insurance documents, and contact information.
If the accident caused death or bodily injury, a driver must take extra steps to ensure legal compliance. When an injury is involved, a driver must:
- Stop the vehicle.
- Give aid to the injured parties.
- Exchange information required by law.
Why Do Hit-And-Run Accidents Happen in Long Beach?
Speeding is one of the leading causes of traffic accidents nationwide. According to the National Highway Safety Administration, in 2020, speeding killed 11,258 drivers, passengers, pedestrians, and others sharing the road.
Distracted driving includes anything that takes the driver’s mind off the task of driving. Distractions can include texting, eating, conversations with passengers, changing the music, looking at an accident while driving past it, etc.
Drivers must prepare for safe travel when inclement weather—speeding, improper lane changes, driving while fatigued and other factors can contribute to an accident, especially in inclement weather.
Dangerous Areas in Long Beach
- Long Beach Boulevard
- Anaheim Street
- Willow Street
- Cherry Avenue
- Pacific Coast Highway
- Interstate 710
- Interstate 405
- The Atlantic stretch between 45th and 46th Street
- Traveling from Clark Avenue to Marber Avenue
Long Beach Ranks Third Worst City of Fifteen Cities for Crashes
The Office of Traffic Safety ranked Long Beach as the third-worst out of 15 cities for drivers. Long Beach’s streets are unsafe for travelers, so use caution while on the road. Long Beach is the 17th worst American city for traffic accidents caused by speeding.
What Are the Elements of a Hit-and-Run Accident?
- The defendant was in a traffic accident while driving.
- The accident caused another person’s property damage.
- The defendant knew or should have known that the accident caused property damage.
- The defendant failed to stop and did not leave any identifying information.
- They were in a traffic accident while driving.
- The accident caused another person’s bodily injury or death.
- They knew or should have known that they were in an accident.
- They left the accident scene without providing identifying information as required by state law.
How Can an LBC Hit-and-Run Accident Lawyer Help?
Long Beach hit-and-run accident lawyers will assist you from start to finish. They will support you during the hectic process of pursuing compensation after a crash. After meeting with you and learning the facts of your case, your attorney will begin crafting a case strategy to help you collect the money you need to get your life back on track.
Part of building a solid case involves a thorough investigation. Your Long Beach hit-and-run accident lawyer will review accident photos, and police reports, speak to eyewitnesses, and employ experts to create an argument in your favor.
An experienced attorney will want to see your medical records and bills. In addition to the property damage they may deduce from accident photos, your attorney will help you identify the losses you incurred since the accident and determine a reasonable settlement.
Your accident lawyer will negotiate with the insurance company on your behalf. Negotiating with insurance companies may be slightly more complex in hit-and-run accidents than in an accident where each party remains at the scene. If you cannot find the liable driver, you may file a claim with your uninsured motorist coverage.
Uninsured motorist coverage is a part of many drivers’ insurance coverage. This part of your policy is available only if the other driver does not have coverage or you are in a hit-and-run accident. Your injury lawyer will help you file a claim to access this coverage and get help paying for your damages.
If the police locate the responsible driver, you can file a claim with their insurance provider. Insurance companies are notoriously difficult to work with because they focus on increasing the bottom line. That means an opposing insurance company will do everything possible to avoid paying claims. Working with a Long Beach personal injury lawyer increases your chances of getting the money you deserve from an insurance company. Never speak to or offer information to an insurance company without seeking legal counsel.
How Long Do I Have to Sue for Damages in a Hit-and-Run Accident?
Victims do not have unlimited time to sue for damages after a hit-and-run accident. In the civil context, there are two deadlines that a victim should familiarize themselves with. A hit-and-run accident victim must timely inform their insurance company of the accident and file a civil lawsuit within the time allowed by law.
Hit-and-run accident victims must remember the statute of limitations. The statute of limitations is the deadline for when an accident victim can file a civil lawsuit against a liable party for damages. Under California Code of Civil Procedure §355.1, a traffic crash victim has two years from the accident date to file a civil lawsuit. Failure to file a lawsuit or settle the claim with an insurance company bars the victim from civil recovery.
Settlement in a motor vehicle accident; client suffered internal injuries.– JUDD ROSS ALLEN
What Should I Do After a Hit-and-Run Accident If I Didn't Cause the Accident?
Does My Insurance Policy Cover Hit-and-Run Accidents?
What If the Police Find the Other Driver?
You may settle your claim with the opposing insurance company. Settling helps avoid the expense and time of a trial. However, if the settlement is not satisfactory, your injury lawyer will take your case to trial to attempt to get a larger settlement.
Potential Damages Available in a Hit-and-Run Accident
There are various types of damages recoverable after a Long Beach hit-and-run accident. To help identify the physical injuries you suffered from the crash, seeing a doctor within 24 hours of the accident is advisable. Prompt medical attention will help build your case and mitigate your pain.
An opposing insurance company may try to downplay your injuries and losses. Do not let a big insurance company intimidate you. Speaking to a Long Beach hit-and-run accident lawyer before starting settlement negotiations ensures you do not leave any money on the table and receive the maximum financial compensation.
Types of Damages
- Current and future lost income
- Current and future medical bills
- Diminished earning capacity
- Pain and suffering
- Mental trauma and anguish
- Loss of enjoyment of life
- Physical impairment or disfigurement
Working with an experienced hit-and-run injury lawyer in Long Beach helps bridge the gap between accident victims and the compensation they deserve.
Let Arash Law, Headed by Arash Khorsandi, Esq., Be Your Advocate
Contact us today at 888-488-1391 or via online chat to schedule a free no-obligation case evaluation.